Page 4: of Marine News Magazine (October 2013)

Manning: Recruitment & Retention

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of October 2013 Marine News Magazine

MarineNews ISSN#1087-3864 USPS#013-952Florida: 215 NW 3rd St., Boynton Beach, FL 33435tel: (561) 732-4368; fax: (561) 732-6984New York: 118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010 tel: (212) 477-6700; fax: (212) 254-6271www.marinelink.com PUBLISHERJohn C. O?Malley  jomalley@marinelink.comAssociate Publisher & Editorial DirectorGreg Trauthwein  trauthwein@marinelink.comEditorJoseph Keefe  keefe@marinelink.comTel: 704-661-8475 Web Editor Eric Haun  haun@marinelink.comContributing WritersSusan Buchanan  Lawrence R. DeMarcay, III  Randy O?Neill PRODUCTION Production & Graphics Manager Nicole Ventimiglia  nicole@marinelink.com SALESVice President, Sales & MarketingRob Howard  howard@marinelink.com Sales Administration & OfÞ ce Manager Rhoda Morgan  morgan@marinelink.com Sales & Event Coordinator Michelle Howard  mhoward@marinelink.comClassiÞ ed Sales (212) 477-6700Advertising Sales ManagersNational Sales ManagerTerry Breese  breese@marinelink.com Tel: 561-732-1185 Fax: 561-732-8414 Lucia Annunziata  annunziata@marinelink.com Frank Covella  covella@marinelink.comTel: 212-477-6700 Fax: 212-254-6271 Tel: 561-732-1659 Fax: 561-732-8063 Mitch Engel  engel@marinelink.com Mike Kozlowski  kozlowski@marinelink.comTel: 561-732-0312 Fax: 561-732-8063 Tel: 561-733-2477 Fax: 561-732-9670 Dawn Trauthwein  dtrauthwein@marinelink.com Jean Vertucci  vertucci@marinelink.comTel: 631-472-2715 Fax: 631-868-3575 Tel: 212-477-6700 Fax: 212-254-6271 Managing Director, Intl. Sales Paul Barrett  ieaco@aol.com Uwe Riemeyer  riemeyer@intermediapartners.de Tel: +44 1268 711560 Tel: +49 202 27169 0 Fax: +44 1268 711567 Fax: +49 202 27169 20CORPORATE STAFF Manager, Accounting Services Rhoda Morgan  morgan@marinelink.com Manager, Public Relations Mark O?Malley  momalley@marinelink.com Manager, Marketing Jocelyn Redfern  jredfern@marinelink.com Manager, Info Tech Services Vladimir Bibik  bibik@marinelink.com CIRCULATION Circulation Manager Kathleen Hickey  mncirc@marinelink.com TO SUBSCRIBE:Subscriptions to Marine News (12 issues per year) for one year are available for $60.00; Two years (24 issues) for $95.00. Send your check payable to: MarineNews, 118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010. For more information email Kathleen Hickey at: k.hickey@marinelink.comPOSTMASTER Time Value Expedite Recruitment & Retention 4HE)NFORMATION!UTHORITYFORTHE7ORKBOATs/FFSHOREs)NLANDs#OASTAL-ARINE-ARKETS arineM/#4/"%2 WWWMARINELINKCOM News Recruitment & Retention Kirby?s invests in its employeesKirby?s invests in its employeesSimulation:Training without boats Communicating Safety: Wireless & way ahead TWIC Technology: +HUHQRZDQGZRUNLQJMXVWÀ QH Simulation:Training without boats Communicating Safety: Wireless & way ahead TWIC Technology: +HUHQRZDQGZRUNLQJMXVWÀ QH On the Cover32 Key to Recruiting & RetainingKirby Corporation?s market cap is in excess of $4B, its  eet of approximately 350 boats and 950 barges commands 35% of the U.S. market. Kirby?s investment in its employees is key to that success. The story begins on page 32. VESSELS42 Double Delivery ? Houma Style MarineNews reports from Houma, La., for a festive double celebration for LeBeouf Bros. Towing. By Greg Trauthwein WORKBOAT DESIGN 46 New Twists to Old Concepts In-House Design Changes are no problem at Tampa Yacht Manufacturing. By Joseph Keefe SIMULATION TRAINING 49 Transas, Seaways Europe & Serco The training of Tugmasters in the absence of actual vessels. By Joseph Keefe 6 Editor?s Note 17 OP/ED: Towing Vessel Inspection Rule By Tom Allegretti 18 TECH FILE: Re-Thinking Shroud Technology 22 OP/ED: Raising Red Flags Offshore By Randall Luthi 52 People & Company News 56 Products 59 Classi eds64 AD Index MarineNews ISSN#1087-3864 is published monthly, 12 times a year by Maritime Activity Reports, Inc., 118 East 25th Street, New York, N. Y. 10160-1062. The publisher assumes no responsibility for any misprints or claims and actions taken by advertisers. The publisher reserves the right to refuse any advertising. Contents of this publication either in whole or in part may not be reproduced without the express permission of the publisher. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to MarineNews , 850 Montauk Hwy. #867 Bayport, NY 11705. MarineNews is published monthly by Maritime Activity Reports Inc. Periodicals Postage paid at New York, NY and additional mailing ofÞ ces. 4 MNOctober 2013MN October2013 Layout 1-17.indd 4MN October2013 Layout 1-17.indd 410/1/2013 9:52:17 AM10/1/2013 9:52:17 AM

Marine News

Marine News is the premier magazine of the North American Inland, coastal and Offshore workboat markets.