Page 4: of Marine News Magazine (May 2014)

Offshore Annual

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of May 2014 Marine News Magazine

MarineNews

ISSN#1087-3864 USPS#013-952

Florida: 215 NW 3rd St., Boynton Beach, FL 33435 tel: (561) 732-4368; fax: (561) 732-6984

New York: 118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010 tel: (212) 477-6700; fax: (212) 254-6271 www.marinelink.com

PUBLISHER

John C. O’Malley jomalley@marinelink.com

Associate Publisher & Editorial Director

Greg Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.com

Editor

Joseph Keefe keefe@marinelink.com

Tel: 704-661-8475

Web Editor

Eric Haun haun@marinelink.com

Contributing Writers

Susan Buchanan Lawrence R. DeMarcay, III Joe Hudspeth Randy O’Neill

PRODUCTION Production & Graphics Manager Nicole Ventimiglia nicole@marinelink.com

SALES

Vice President, Sales & Marketing

Rob Howard howard@marinelink.com

Advertising Sales Managers

National Sales Manager

Terry Breese breese@marinelink.com

Tel: 561-732-1185 Fax: 561-732-8414

Lucia Annunziata annunziata@marinelink.com Frank Covella covella@marinelink.com

Tel: 212-477-6700 Fax: 212-254-6271 Tel: 561-732-1659 Fax: 561-732-8063

Mitch Engel engel@marinelink.com Mike Kozlowski kozlowski@marinelink.com

Tel: 561-732-0312 Fax: 561-732-8063 Tel: 561-733-2477 Fax: 561-732-9670

Dawn Trauthwein dtrauthwein@marinelink.com Jean Vertucci vertucci@marinelink.com

Tel: 631-472-2715 Fax: 631-868-3575 Tel: 212-477-6700 Fax: 212-254-6271

Managing Director, Intl. Sales Paul Barrett ieaco@aol.com Uwe Riemeyer riemeyer@intermediapartners.de Tel: +44 1268 711560 Tel: +49 202 27169 0 Fax: +44 1268 711567 Fax: +49 202 27169 20

Sales & Event Coordinator

Michelle Howard mhoward@marinelink.com

Classifi ed Sales (212) 477-6700

CORPORATE STAFF Manager, Public Relations Mark O’Malley momalley@marinelink.com Manager, Info Tech Services Vladimir Bibik bibik@marinelink.com

CIRCULATION Circulation Manager Kathleen Hickey mncirc@marinelink.com

TO SUBSCRIBE:

Subscriptions to Marine News (12 issues per year) for one year are available for $60.00;

Two years (24 issues) for $95.00.

Send your check payable to:

MarineNews, 118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010.

For more information email Kathleen Hickey at: k.hickey@marinelink.com

POSTMASTER Time Value Expedite 4HE)NFORMATION!UTHORITYFORTHE7ORKBOATs/FFSHOREs)NLANDs#OASTAL-ARINE-ARKETS arine

M -!9 WWWMARINELINKCOMNews

Offshore Annual

Spanning Service,

Survivability & Safety

OPC Sweepstakes

And then there were three

HVAC Design

Collaboration is the key

Offshore Safety

SEMS, the regulators – and you

On the Cover 26 Expanding Rules for Marine Ops

Serious offshore incidents in recent years have compelled both the federal government and the oil and gas industry to make commitments to environmentally sustainable practices and safety.

SEMS regulations are a big part of that effort. The story begins on page 26.

Photo: courtesy of Bureau Veritas. ENVIRONMENTAL 32 The ABC’s of EALs for the EPA’s VGP How ester-based oils handle hydrolysis to remain the top EAL for VGP.

By Ben Bryant and Dirk Fabry WORKBOAT EQUIPMENT 42 Collaborating to Find Cool Solutions Dometic’s HVAC systems provide comfortable environs and protect vital equipment. 6 Editor’s Note 20 OP/ED: Arctic Energy Exploration: Not If, But When? By Randall Luthi 48 Tech File: Marine Monitoring System Development By Alain Meslati 50 Tech File: gplink Evolves By Joseph Keefe 63 Vessels 66 People & Company News 70 Products 76 Classifi eds 80 AD Index

MarineNews ISSN#1087-3864 is published monthly, 12 times a year by Maritime

Activity Reports, Inc., 118 East 25th Street, New York, N. Y. 10160-1062. The publisher assumes no responsibility for any misprints or claims and actions taken by advertisers. The publisher reserves the right to refuse any advertising. Contents of this publication either in whole or in part may not be reproduced without the express permission of the publisher.

POSTMASTER: Send address changes to MarineNews, 850 Montauk Hwy. #867

Bayport, NY 11705.

MarineNews is published monthly by Maritime Activity Reports Inc. Periodicals Postage paid at New York, NY and additional mailing offi ces. 4 MN

May 2014

MN May14 Layout 1-17.indd 4 4/21/2014 10:38:16 AM

Marine News

Marine News is the premier magazine of the North American Inland, coastal and Offshore workboat markets.