Page 4: of Marine Technology Magazine (March 2006)

AUVs; ROVs; UUVs

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of March 2006 Marine Technology Magazine

www.seadiscovery.com Marine Technology Reporter 5

Maggie Linskey Merrill is the founding editor and publisher of Marine Technology Reporter. She has 20 years experience communicating marine science, technology, environmental and engineering news and information. She has held positions at the

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, HA Perry Foundation and Sea Data Corporation.

In 1993 she founded MTR and the Marine and Oceanographic

Technology Network (MOTN). (Story on page 34) www.seadiscovery.com

NEW YORK 118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010

Tel: (212) 477-6700; Fax: (212) 254-6271

FLORIDA 215 NW 3rd St., Boynton Beach, FL 33435

Tel: (561) 732-1659; Fax: (561) 732-6984

PUBLISHER

John C. O'Malley • jomalley@marinelink.com

Associate Publisher & Editor

Gregory R. Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.com

Editorial Director

Maggie Merrill martrep@aol.com

Editorial Intern

Melissa Mendoza mendoza@marinelink.com

Production Manager

John Guzman guzman@marinelink.com

Asst. Production Manager

Irina Tabakina tabakina@marinelink.com

Manager, Information Services

Tina Veselov veselov@marinelink.com

Manager, Accounting Services

Esther Rothenberger rothenberger@marinelink.com

Manager, Public Relations

Mark O’Malley momalley@marinelink.com

Marketing Coordinator

Jocelyn Pearring pearring@marinelink.com

Manager, Information Technology Services

Vladimir Bibik bibik@marinelink.com

ADVERTISING

Sales Manager

Dominick Daddio daddio@marinelink.com

Senior Vice President, Sales

Brett W. Keil bkeil@marinelink.com

Tel: (561) 732-1185; Fax: (561) 732-8414

Senior Vice President, Sales

Rob Howard howard@marinelink.com

Tel: (561) 732-4368; Fax: (561) 732-6984

Vice President of Sales

Lucia M. Annunziata annunziata@marinelink.com

Classified Ad Sales

Dale L. Barnett barnett@marinelink.com

Managing Director, International Sales

Tony Stein tony.r.stein@btinternet.com 12, Braehead, Bo'ness, West Lothian EH51 OBZ, Scotland, U.K.

Tel: +44 (0) 1506 822240; Fax: +44 (0) 1506 828085

Vice President, International Operations

Charles E. Keil ckeil@marinelink.com

Tel: (561) 732-0312; Fax: (561) 732-8063 on the Cover

The new 150 hp Triton XLS, with a high specification survey suite and high thrust output. Triton XLS-11 has recently been delivered to Geoconsult AS and is sched- uled for installation on their new build vessel Geoholm in Q1 2006 also in this Edition 4 Editorial 4 Editorial Index 46 People & Company News 59 MTR Marketplace: JOBS 64 Advertiser’s Index the Authors

Dr. Robert Ballard is presently the Director of the Institute for

Archaeological Oceanography at the University of Rhode

Island’s Graduate School of Oceanography after spending 30 years at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution where he founded the Deep Submergence Laboratory. (Story on page 24)

Dr. Stephen R. Hammond is Acting Director the NOAA Ocean

Exploration program. He has served as the program's Chief

Scientist and is Division Director for the Ocean Environment

Research Division of NOAA's Pacific Marine Environmental

Laboratory. Dr. Hammond has a Ph.D in marine geophysics and has been involved in submarine volcanic and hydrothermal research for more than 30 years. (Story on page 24)

Dr. Larry Mayer is the director of the Center for Coastal and

Ocean Mapping at the University of New Hampshire and the co-director of the NOAA/UNH Joint Hydrographic Center.

Larry's present research deals with sonar imaging and remote characterization of the seafloor as well as advanced applications of 3-D visualization to ocean mapping problems. (Story on page 24)

MTR#2 (1-16).qxd 2/23/2006 4:10 PM Page 7

Marine Technology

Marine Technology Reporter is the world's largest audited subsea industry publication serving the offshore energy, subsea defense and scientific communities.