Page 6: of Marine Technology Magazine (October 2012)

Ocean Observation: Gliders, buoys & sub surface monitoring networks

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of October 2012 Marine Technology Magazine

www.seadiscovery.com Vol. 55 No. 8 ISSN 1559-7415USPS# 023-276118 East 25th Street, New York, NY 10010 tel: (212) 477-6700; fax: (212) 254-6271Marine Technology Reporter ISSN 1559-7415 is published monthly except for February, August, and December by New Wave Media, 118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010-2915. Periodicals Postage at New York, NY and additional mailing ofÞ ces. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to MARINE TECHNOLOGY REPORTER, 118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010-2915. Postmaster send notiÞ cation (Form 3579) regarding undeliverable magazines to Marine Technology Reporter, 118 East 25th Street, New York, NY 10010. Publishers are not responsible for the safekeeping or return of editorial material. © 2012 New Wave Media. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the publishers. Subscription: To subscribe please visit www.seadiscovery.com/subscribe MemberEditorial www.seadiscovery.com NEW YORK118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010 Tel: (212) 477-6700; Fax: (212) 254-6271 FLORIDA215 NW 3rd St., Boynton Beach, FL 33435Tel: (561) 732-4368; Fax: (561) 732-6984 PUBLISHER John C. O?Malleyjomalley@marinelink.comAssociate Publisher & EditorGregory R. Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.comContributing Editors Capt. Edward Lundquist, USN (Ret.) Rhonda Moniz  Claudio PaschoaProduction ManagerIrina Tabakina tabakina@marinelink.comProduction & Graphic DesignNicole Ventimiglia nicole@marinelink.comSales Administration & OfÞ ce Manager Rhoda Morganmorgan@marinelink.comSales & Event Coordinator Michelle Howard mhoward@marinelink.comManager, Accounting Services Rhoda Morgan morgan@marinelink.comManager, Public Relations Mark O?Malleymomalley@marinelink.comManager, Marketing Jocelyn Redfernjredfern@marinelink.comManager, Information Technology Services Vladimir Bibikbibik@marinelink.comCIRCULATION Kathleen Hickeymtrcirc@marinelink.comADVERTISING Vice President, Sales and MarketingRob Howardhoward@marinelink.comTel: (561) 732-4368  Fax: (561) 732-6984 Advertising Sales Manager Lucia M. Annunziataannunziata@marinelink.comTel: (212) 477-6700  Fax: (212) 254-6271 Mike Kozlowskikozlowski@marinelink.comTel: (561) 733-2477  Fax: (561) 732-9670 JapanKatsuhiro Ishii  amskatsu@ dream.comTel: +81 3 5691 3335  Fax: + 81 3 5691 3336 Gregory R. Trauthwein, Associate Publisher & Editor of Marine Technology Reporter. Email: trauthwein@marinelink.com For an industry that is as global and technically advanced as the subsea industry (case-in-point, kindly turn to page 8 of this edition and read about efforts underway to develop a system to explore the oceans under heavy ice cover ... on EUROPA, a satellite of the planet Jupiter sitting about 390.4 million miles from earth) it is at the same time downright quaint, relatively speaking a ?small town? of personnel, companies, organizations and educational institutions that know each other or at one point or another have worked together. One of my favorite (and one of the newest) features in MTR is the ?First Per- son,? a feature section devoted to individuals in this  eld that have a unique story to tell; to be honest, I have yet to run into an individual in this  eld that doesn?t have a unique story to tell.This month we are thrilled to bring you a story from the crew at CR Environmen- tal - Chip Ryther, Eli Perrone and Chris Wright - regarding the back story to the planning, construction and delivery of the 55-ft. lobster boat Jamie Hanna. A lobster boat in MTR, you ask? Read the story, starting on page 44, which describes how CR Environmental has a long and mutually bene cial working relationship, a relation- ship that began in 2000 when CR Environmental received a Fisherman Industry Grand from NOAA to train  shermen and to out t their vessels for oceanographic survey work. A good story that speaks to the core of collaboration and ef cient use of resources, I think you will agree.(As a side, if you have an idea for a feature in this slot based on your own experi- ence, I would love to hear it via email). On the other side of the spectrum, we are pleased to offer a feature from another trio of authors, led by Philip A. McGillivary , U.S. Coast Guard PACAREA, regard- ing the ?Networking of Maritime Fleets of Autonomous Systems for Science & Sur- veillance,? speci cally the bene ts and challenges of the task to further develop the Integrated Ocean Observing System (IOOS). This story starts on page 32. Credit: U.S. Navy photo by Chief Photographer?s Mate Andrew McKaskle October 20126 MTRMTR #8 (1-17).indd 6MTR #8 (1-17).indd 610/4/2012 10:29:03 AM10/4/2012 10:29:03 AM

Marine Technology

Marine Technology Reporter is the world's largest audited subsea industry publication serving the offshore energy, subsea defense and scientific communities.