Page 8: of Marine Technology Magazine (March 2013)

Instrumentation: Measurement, Processing & Analysis

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of March 2013 Marine Technology Magazine

www.seadiscovery.com Vol. 56 No. 2 ISSN 1559-7415USPS# 023-276118 East 25th Street, New York, NY 10010 tel: (212) 477-6700; fax: (212) 254-6271Marine Technology Reporter ISSN 1559-7415 is published monthly except for February, August, and December by New Wave Media, 118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010-2915. Periodicals Postage at New York, NY and additional mailing ofÞ ces. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Marine Technology Re- porter, 850 Montauk Hwy., #867, Bayport, NY 11705 Postmaster send notiÞ cation (Form 3579) regarding undeliverable magazines to Marine Technology Reporter, 850 Montauk Hwy., #867 Bayport, NY 11705 Publishers are not responsible for the safekeeping or return of editorial material. © 2013 New Wave Media. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the publishers. Subscription: To subscribe please visit www.seadiscovery.com/subscribe MemberEditorial www.seadiscovery.com NEW YORK118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010 Tel: (212) 477-6700; Fax: (212) 254-6271 FLORIDA215 NW 3rd St., Boynton Beach, FL 33435Tel: (561) 732-4368; Fax: (561) 732-6984 PUBLISHER John C. O?Malleyjomalley@marinelink.comAssociate Publisher & EditorGregory R. Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.comContributing Editors Capt. Edward Lundquist, USN (Ret.) Claudio PaschoaProduction ManagerIrina Tabakina tabakina@marinelink.comProduction & Graphic DesignNicole Ventimiglia nicole@marinelink.comSales Administration & OfÞ ce Manager Rhoda Morganmorgan@marinelink.comSales & Event Coordinator Michelle Howard mhoward@marinelink.comManager, Accounting Services Rhoda Morgan morgan@marinelink.comManager, Public Relations Mark O?Malleymomalley@marinelink.comManager, Marketing Jocelyn Redfernjredfern@marinelink.comManager, Information Technology Services Vladimir Bibikbibik@marinelink.comCIRCULATION Kathleen Hickeymtrcirc@marinelink.comADVERTISING Vice President, Sales and MarketingRob Howardhoward@marinelink.comTel: (561) 732-4368  Fax: (561) 732-6984 Advertising Sales Manager Lucia M. Annunziataannunziata@marinelink.comTel: (212) 477-6700  Fax: (212) 254-6271 Mike Kozlowskikozlowski@marinelink.comTel: (561) 733-2477  Fax: (561) 732-9670 JapanKatsuhiro Ishii  amskatsu@ dream.comTel: +81 3 5691 3335  Fax: + 81 3 5691 3336 Gregory R. Trauthwein, Associate Publisher & Editor of Marine Technology Reporter. Email: trauthwein@marinelink.com Having served the maritime, offshore and subsea industries with infor- mation for more than 20 years, it is undeniable that you form special kinship with certain people, organizations and entities. It?s human nature. Marine Technology Reporter?s kinship with the great State of Rhode Island stretches back to 2005 when we started publishing in this format. Not long after the  rst few editions rolled off the press, I received an invitation from Dr. Bob Ballard to visit with him and his students at URI to discuss Dr. Ballard?s Archaeological Oceanography Doctorate Program, a report featured in the January 2006 edition of MTR. Since then our relationship with the state has grown ever-stronger, with Rhode Island serving as our ?home away from home? on the occasion of four Ocean Tech Expo?s in Newport, and via continued interest and support from all corners of the state, starting with the Governor?s of ce, extending through NUWC, and including companies large and small, colleagues and friends. That?s why this month I am particularly pleased to share with you a special 16-page supplement, starting on page 33, entitled ?Discovering Rhode Island.? In my humble opinion,  rst-time MTR contributor (but seasoned business journalist) Patricia Keefe has done an outstanding job of delivering the essence of the state in a packed 16 pages of coverage, starting with a message from Governor Lincoln D. Chafee , and including insightful features on the state and its commitment to the ocean, from the perspective of defense, education, environment and renewable energy. When Rhode Island looks at the ocean, it views it with a keen and discerning eye, as it is the ocean that is the life-blood for much of the state?s prosperity. It examines not just the water, but the totality of the ocean environment, including all systems from below the seabed to high in the atmosphere, an approach which helped to foster the state?s Special Area Management Plan (SAMP) , which as Keefe describes is a ?ground-breaking, standard-setting, nationally lauded approach to ocean management with a focus on renewable energy.? Credit: University of Rhode Island 8 MTRMarch 2013 MTR #2 (1-17).indd 8MTR #2 (1-17).indd 83/7/2013 1:04:48 PM3/7/2013 1:04:48 PM

Marine Technology

Marine Technology Reporter is the world's largest audited subsea industry publication serving the offshore energy, subsea defense and scientific communities.