Page 6: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (July 2001)

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of July 2001 Maritime Reporter Magazine

Editor's Note

Considering the over abundance of con-ferences and exhibitions that grace the marine industry's business calendar, I am pleased to report on the activities of the

Ship Operations Cooperative Program (SOCP), which most recently met on the scenic campus of the Massachusetts Maritime Academy. SOCP — which is a business/government partnership — provides a fresh dialogue among industry players with discussions focused on real-world issues and solutions. June's meeting featured a number of topics, from alternative fuel technologies to a ferry operator panel, which dis- cussed regulation, training, safety and technology. A more extensive account of the meeting will be found in MR/EN's August edition, U.S. Report. For more information on the group and its meetings, I encourage you to visit www.socp.org.

While the marine business continues to be characterized as one that is con- servative in regards to the technology it incorporates, I strongly disagree. A read through this edition, in fact, illustrates many examples of how advanced technology is shaping and re-shaping the industry every day. Starting with the

Gulf of Mexico Offshore Report on page 26, it is no small issue that the latest round of good business prospects is being driven by and supported with advanced technology, from the ability to discover and recover resources in increasingly deeper waters, to the ability to place production facilities on sta- tion and seamlessly transport the product back to shore. The Diesel Power

Annual starting on page 36D starts with a report from Alan Haig-Brown on how a small company — Westar Marine — is capitalizing on California's Carl

Moyer Program to re-power its fleet of 14 vessels, reducing NOx and improv- ing performance. Advances in propulsion, however, is not limited to the diesel engine realm, as David Tinsley reports — starting on page 44 — on the tremendous headway being made with the increasing variety of podded propulsion systems available today. Though there have been a few well-report- ed technical glitches with some systems, it is widely agreed that the operational advantages — which include unparalleled maneuverability, increased propul- sion efficiency and improved safety — will ensure the product's viability in a wide range of marine applications.

The U.S. demand for some of the most technologically advanced commer- cial vessels afloat — LNG carriers — is set to take off, if results of a recent

Lloyd's Register survey are complete. On page 10 there is a small news item, received at press time, which says that up to 75 new LNG carriers could be needed for U.S. operation in the next decade. This report — which will be expanded upon in the August edition — follows on our June World Yearbook report ("Frozen Gas Market Heats Up," page 50, June 2001). www.marinelink.com

MARITIME REPORTER

AND

ENGINEERING NEWS

NEW YORK 118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010

Tel: (212) 477-6700; Fax: (212) 254-6271 e-mail: mren@marinelink.com

Internet: www.marinelink.com

FLORIDA 215 NW 3rd St., Boynton Beach, FL 33435

ASSOCIATE PUBLISHER

Gregory R. Trauthwein • trauthwein@marinelink.com

EDITORIAL

Senior Editor

Regina P. Ciardiello • ciardiello@marinelink.com

Editorial Intern

Jennifer Rabulan

Technical Editor

David Tinsley

Editorial Consultant

James R. McCaul, president, International Maritime Associates

MARKETING

Vice President of Marketing

Susan Cosme • cosme@marinelink.com

Marketing Manager

Richard Grable • grable@marinelink.com

Tel: (561) 732-1659; Fax: (561) 732-6984

PRODUCTION

Production Manager

Sharon Griffin • griffin@marinelink.com

Asst. Production Manager

Oksana Martemy • martemy@marinelink.com

CIRCULATION

Circulation Manager

Dale L. Barnett • barnett@marinelink.com

ADVERTISING SALES

Vice President of Sales

Lucia M. Annunziata • annunziata@marinelink.com

National Sales Manager

Robert C. Howard • howard@marinelink.com

Tel: (561) 732-3001; Fax: (561) 732-6984

Regional Sales Manager

Jennifer Truman • truman@marinelink.com

Regional Sales Manager

Brett W. Keil • bkeil@marinelink.com

Tel: (561) 732-1185; Fax: (561) 732-6984

Electronic Product Sales

Joe Trubinsky • trubinsky@marinelink.com

Tel: (561) 732-4368; Fax: (208) 575-3217

Assistant to the Vice President of Sales

Tina Angelino • angelino@marinelink.com

Accounting Manager

Angelica Rivera • arivera@marinelink.com

Classified Sales

Tel: (212) 477-6700

PUBLISHER

John E. O'Malley

John C. O'Malley • jomalley@marinelink.com

Chief Financial Officer

Al Adinolfi ©feff [Mflfedt OfflfeG'ODQft

Publications

MarineNews

MarineNews

Published 18 times per year, MarineNews is the acknowledged provider of information and analysis for the North American inland/offshore shallow draft market. ttdUfe. trauthwein@marinelink.com

Electronic Products & Services www.maritimetoday.com

Customized e-mail news service deliv- ered twice a day, including the latest contracts, casualties, people & compa- ny reports. www.maritimeiobs.com

The marine industry's recruiting & employment resource. www.marinelink.com

The Internet's largest marine website, recording more than 270,000 "hits" per month. Daily news, data & statis- ~ tics, industry directories.

Looking for service reliability, we deliver it.

ABB Turbochargers

ABB

New York/NJ, Miami, Houston, Seattle/Tacoma, Los Angeles - email: turbochargers@us.abb.com 6

Circle 201 on Reader Service Card www.maritimereporterinfo.com

Maritime Reporter/Engineering News

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.