Page 6: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (March 2002)

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of March 2002 Maritime Reporter Magazine

Port and maritime security matters continue to dominate the agenda list of marine companies and orga- nizations. While an unprecedented inter- national effort to thwart terrorist attacks has seemingly had some positive impact, the heightened awareness has exposed fis- sures in the system.

At a meeting of the IMO Maritime Safe- ty Committee's Intersessional Working Group on Maritime Secu- rity (ISWG), the group fast-forwarded a number of topical mat- ters, including an agreement to discuss the accelerations of the implementation schedule for the mandatory fitting of Automatic

Identification Systems for all ships of 500 gross tonnage and above, on international voyages. While such talk undoubtedly makes the hearts of marine electronics manufacturers swoon, it gives vessel owners, and operators — which must ultimately foot the bill and pass along the cost — cause for pause.

Congruent with this security theme, a collection of leaders from the military, the U.S. Senate and industry met in Washing- ton, D.C. on February 26 to lobby for an additional $2.9 billion in the FY 03 budget for the purpose of building more new Navy ships. The president's proposal, which requests $6.1 billion for the procurement of five new Navy vessels, is a slap in the face of estimates which say between 10 to 12 new ships per year are needed to maintain a healthy fleet. For too long the Navy has been told "next year we'll make it up," but leaders such as

Northrop Grumman's Phil Dur; Senators Thad Cochran, (R-

Miss.), and Jack Reed, (D-R.I.); and Admiral Robert Natter are determined to make next year this year.

Security and Navy aside, the commercial marine business remains a viable venture, though consolidation and a sour econo- my have colluded to cloud that reality. Technology remains the driver of the marine market, as highlighted in this month's Tanker

Technology section. Spain's IZAR very proudly launched its first

LNG ship in more than three decades — the Inigo Tapias — a marker that surely serves as a signal supporting IZAR manage- ment's contention that this is the "decade of gas." With five such ships on order and four more slots to fill, IZAR is making a run in a market niche that has slid to yards in the Far East. www.marinelink.com

MARITIME

REPORTER

AND

ENGINEERING NEWS

NEW YORK 118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010

Tel: (212) 477-6700; Fox: (212) 254-6271 3-moil: mren@marinelink.com • Internet: www.marinelink.com

FLORIDA 215 NW 3rd St., Boynton Beach, FL 33435

EDITORIAL

Managing Editor

Regina P. Ciardiello • ciardiello@marinelink.com

Assistant Editor

Jennifer Rabulan • rabulan@marinelink.com

Technical Editor

David Tinsley

Editorial Consultant

James R. McCaul, president,

International Maritime Associates

MARKETING

Vice President of Marketing

Susan Cosme • cosme@marinelink.com

Marketing Manager

Richard Grable • grable@marinelink.com

Tel: (561) 732-1659; Fax: (561) 732-6984

ASSOCIATE PUBLISHER

Gregory R. Trauthwein • trauthwein@marinelink.com

PRODUCTION

Production Manager

Michael Lowe • lowe@marinelink.com

Asst. Production Manager

Oksana Martemy • martemy@marinelink.com

CIRCULATION

Grculation Manager

Dale L. Barnett • barnett@marinelink.com

ADVERTISING SALES

Vice President of Sales

Lucia M. Annunziata • annunziata@marinelink.com

National Sales Manager

Rob Howard • howard@marinelink.com

Tel: 941-949-5351; Fax: 941-949-5358

Chief Financial Officer

Al Adinolfi

North American Sales Manager

Brett W. Keil • bkeil@marinelink.com

Tel: (561) 732-1185; Fax: (561) 732-6984

Director, New Business Development

Jean Vertucci • vertucci@marinelink.com

Electronic Product Sales

Joe Trubinsky • trubinsky@marinelink.com

Tel: (561) 732-4368; Fax: (208) 575-3217

Assistant to the Vice President of Sales

Tina Angelino • angelino@marinelink.com

Accounting Manager

Angelica Rivera • arivera@marinelink.com

Classified Sales

Tel: (212) 477-6700

PUBLISHER

John E. 0'Malley

John C. 0'Malley • jomalley@marinelink.com ®(fe[? MoftMS DDGffeMf] & taflGWOG totafe

Electronic Products & Services www.maritimetoday.com

Customized e-mail news service deliv- ered twice a day, including the latest contracts, casualties, people & compa- ny reports. www.maritimejobs.com m ^MTz— W, mar'ne industry's recruiting & £•" employment resource. .is.

MarineNews

Published 18 times per year, MarineNews is the leading provider of information and analysis for the North Ameri- can inland/offshore shallow draft market. trauthwein @ marinelink.com www.marinelink.com

The Internet's largest marine website, recording more than 270,000 "hits" per month. Daily news, data & statis- tics, industry directories.

Looking for service reliability, we deliver it.

ABB Turbochargers

AM

New York/NJ, Miami, Houston, Seattle/Tacoma, Los Angeles - email: turbochargers@us.abb.com 6

Circle 200 on Reader Service Card or visit www.maritimereporterinfo.com

Maritime Reporter/Engineering News

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.