Page 2: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (March 2003)

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of March 2003 Maritime Reporter Magazine

MARITIME REPORTER

AND

ENGINEERING NEWS

Contents 8 Is Title XI Extinct?

The House and Senate Conferees have zeroed out appropriations that would have allowed MarAd to continue Title XI. — By H. Clayton Cook, Jr. 18 "Dear Mr. Coast Guard,"

Dennis Bryant's open letter to the U.S. Coast Guard summarizes the new marine security initiatives ... and their affect. 24 The Automated Ship

Ship automation is great, as long as it's kept up to date. An interesting proj- ect in Sweden explores efficient ways to accomplish this. — By David Titisley, technical editor 32 Ronald Reagan (CVN-76)

The latest nuclear Aircraft Carrier from Northrop Grumman Newport

News Shipbuilding features a wealth of new technologies and features. — By Greg Trauthwein 36 Ministry with a Mission

Rev. Dr. Jean Smith takes over at Seamen's Church Institute, and as Regina

Ciardiello found, she is well prepared for the task. 38 First Responders

A barge/refinery explosion in Staten Island again highlights the need for fast response emergency and clean up vessels. 48 MIC Down Under

Microbiologically Influenced Corrosion was the topic of intense study on some double hull barges.

AZONIX •YNALCQ

ProPartel® Mariner

Indoor/Outdoor, Totally Sealed

HMI Controls Display

For more information email:

ProPanel-Mariner@azonix.com

Seeing is Believing...

Introducing the new ProPanel® Mariner sunlight viewable/darkship dimmable marine application computer built for extended operation in harsh environments.

Completely watertight. Built tough.

Proven to withstand the effects of extreme high and low ambient temperatures, shock, vibration and excessive EMI/RFI interferences.

The ProPanel® Mariner family of products are used in various types of applications: • Navy Cruiser Bridge Wing • Bridge Computer on Vessels including: - Luxury Yachts - Tugboats - Workboats - Navy Vessels • Engine Room Propulsion Monitoring aboard: - Frigates - Cruisers - Aircraft Carriers

Lloyds Register Certified

Navy or Military ShockA/ibration/EMI Qualified

Circle 208 on Reader Service Card

NEW YORK 118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010

Tel: (212) 477-6700; Fax: (212) 254-6271 e-mail: mren@marinelink.com • Web: Internet: www.marinelink.com

FLORIDA • 215 NW 3rd St., Boynton Beach, FL 33435

Associate Publisher

Gregory R. Trauthwein • lmulhwein@marinelink.com

EDITORIAL

Managing Editor

Regina P. Ciardiello • ciardiello@marinelink.com

Associate Editor • Jennifer Rabulan • rabulan@marinelink.com

Technical Editor • David Tinsley

Contributing Editor • Dennis L. Bryant, Senior Maritime Counsel,

Holland & Knight

Editorial Consultant • James R. McCaul, president,

International Maritime Associates

MARKETING

Marketing Manager

Richard Grable • grable@marinelink.com

Tel: (561) 732-1659; Fax: 1561) 732-6984

PRODUCTION

Production Manager

Michael Lowe • lowe@marinelink.com

Asst. Production Manager

Irina Tabakina • tabakina@marinelink.com

CIRCULATION

Circulation Manager

Dale L. Barnett • barnett@marinelink.com

ADVERTISING SALES

Vice President of Sales

Lucia M. Annunziata • annunziata@marinelink.com

National Sales Manager

Rob Howard • howard@marinelink.com

Tel: (561) 732-4368; Fax: (561) 732-6984

North American Sales Manager

Brett W. Keil • bkeil@marinelink.com

Tel: (561) 732-1185: Fax: (561) 732-8414

Director, New Business Development

Jean Vertucci • vertucci@marinelink.com

Manager, Information Services

Tina Angelina • angelino@marinelink.com

Manager, Accounting Services

Esther Rothenberger • rothenberger@marinelink.com

Manager, Advertising Services

Kristen O'Malley • o malley@marinelink.com

Sales Assistant

Elizabeth Singh • singh@marinelink.com

Classified Sales • Tel: (212) 477-6700

PUBLISHERS

John E. O'Malley

John C. O'Malley • jomalley@marinelink.com

Chief Financial Officer

Albert A. Adinolfi

International Sales Operations

Managing Director, International Sales

TONY STEIN 12, Braehead, Bo'ness, West Lothian EH51 OBZ, Scotland, U.K.

Tel: +44 (0) 1506 822240; Fax: +44 (0) 1506 828085

CHARLES E. KEIL, Vice President, International Operations 215 NW Third Street, Boynton Beach, FL 33435

Tel: +561-732-0312; Fax: +561-732-8063 24-hr Tel/Fax: +561-998-0313, Mobile Tel: +561-716-0338 e-mail: ckeil@marinelink.com

Germany/Switzerland

TONY STEIN

Tel: +44 (0) 1506 822240, Fox: +44 (0) 1506 828085

Japan

KATSUHIRO ISHII

Ace Media Service Inc., 12-6, 4-chome, Nishiike, Adachi-ku, Tokyo 121,

Japan, Tel: +81 3 5691 3335; Fax: + 81 3 5691 3336

Korea

JO, YOUNG SANG

Business Communications, Inc., Kwangwhaman P.O. Box 1916, Seoul, Korea

Tel: +82 2 739 7840; Fax: +82 2 732 3662

Scandinavia

STEPHAN R.G. 0RN/LE0N SCHULZ

AB Stephan R.G. Orn, Box 184, S-271 24 Ystad, Sweden

Tel:+46 411-184 00; Fax:+46 411 105 31

Spain

JOSE LUIS SEVA

Via Exdusiuas S.L., C/ Viriato, 69 SC, 28010, Madrid, Spain

Tel: +34 91 448 9136; Fax: +34 91 446 0214

Maritime Reporter & Engineering News

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.