Page 53: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (March 2013)

U.S. Coast Guard Annual

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of March 2013 Maritime Reporter Magazine 53eral Manager, Subsea on April 1, 2013. Duncan has a broad offshore oil and gas industry back- ground, including holding senior and executive management roles for the last 15 years, after pro-gressing through engineering, project and opera-tions management positions. Tang Promoted at IHC Asia Paci Þ c IHC Asia Paci Þ c, the regional headquarters of IHC Merwede in Singapore, announced the ap-pointment of Francis Tang as Product Director for the Product Market Combination team re-sponsible for global sales and marketing of ser- vice and support vessels. The announcement of Tang?s appointment coincided with the launch of both of IHC Packhorse vessels. They will be built in Asia through the cooperation agreement with Singapore-based specialist offshore shipbuilder Jaya Holdings.Stork Technical Services appoints Law Stork Technical Services appointed Steven Law to the role of HSSEQ Director ? UK & Africa. Law starts immediately and will be based in Aberdeen, UK, which is the operational hub for the company?s upstream oil & gas business. He will be responsible for the day-to-day running of Stork?s UK & Africa HSSEQ function. 2012 ASNE Award Winners ASNE announced annual award winners, with presentation at ASNE Day in Crystal City, Va. - 2012 Gold Medal Award (Engineering) - RADM Thomas J. Eccles, USN The Gold Medal is given to an individual who has made a signiÞ cant naval engineering contribution in a particular area during the past Þ ve years. - 2012 Harold E. Saunders Award (Lifetime Achievement) - Mr. Michael F. Tangora The Harold E. Saunders Award honors an individ- ual whose reputation in naval engineering spans a long career of notable achievement and inß uence.- 2012 Clifford G. Geiger Award (Naval Logis- tics) - CDR Jonathan Baker, USCG Awarded to naval logistics professionals who, over a period of years, have exempliÞ ed the ide- als portrayed by Mr. Clifford G. Geiger through exceptional leadership and inß uence within the naval logistics community, determined efforts to strengthen the synergy between engineering and logistics, and dedication to enhancing the capa-bility and stature of the naval logistics profession through increased emphasis on education and pro-fessional development for naval logisticians.- 2012 Rosenblatt Young Naval Engineer Award - Dr. Leigh McCue-Weil Established in memory of Mandell and Lester Rosenblatt, it is presented to a person under 35 years of age who has demonstrated remarkable, early professional achievement in one or more ar- eas of naval engineering.- 2012 Frank G. Law Award (Service to ASNE) - RADM Jeffrey Brooks, USN (Ret.) The Frank G. Law Award is given to an individual whose longtime dedication and service to the So-ciety is deemed worthy of special recognition.- 2012 Claud A. Jones Award (Fleet Engineer- ing) - Mr. Scott Ramalho Given to a ß eet or Þ eld engineer who has made signiÞ cant contributions to improving operational Curtis LawTang R: Tangora L: EcclesCall for Entries: Safe Affordable Ferry Competition Open to Students Worldwide Registrations are now being accepted for the Worldwide Ferry Safety Association (WFSA)?s annual student competition for the design of safe affordable ferries to serve developing nations. Ferries are to be designed according to speciÞ cations of a particular developing and emerging market nation, this year: Bangladesh. The 2013 competition calls for an innovative concept for a ferry prepared to basic design detail. The terms of reference are for a ferry able to transport 500 passengers along Bangladesh?s inland river system, between Dhaka, the capital (and a ma- jor commercial center) and Barisal, a region 250 km to the south. The ferry must be safe to operate in the conditions of the waterway and weather, and meet required passenger capacity guidelines. Additionally, the ferry must be affordable to construct, acquire, operate, maintain, and repair. Upon registration, full speci Þ cations will be provided. Student teams are encour- aged to collaborate among disciplines and across national boundaries. The top prize is $5,000 with additional prizes of $3,000 and $1,000, with winners invited to an award ceremony. Those interested in registering should contact the WFSA, though email at to receive further information and a registration identiÞ cation number. The registration period closes April 1, 2013. Submissions are due electronically by June 1, 2013. MR #3 (50-58).indd 53MR #3 (50-58).indd 532/26/2013 4:41:31 PM2/26/2013 4:41:31 PM

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.