Page 4: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (March 2013)

U.S. Coast Guard Annual

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of March 2013 Maritime Reporter Magazine

4 MARITIME REPORTER & ENGINEERING NEWS ? MARCH 2013 PUBLISHERSJohn E. O?MalleyJohn C. O?Malley  jomalley@marinelink.comAssociate Publisher & EditorGregory R Trauthwein  trauthwein@marinelink.com Contributing Editors Dennis L. Bryant Edward Lundquist Editorial Intern Eric Haun Correspondents Joseph Fonseca, India Greg Knowler, China Claudio Pashoa, Brazil Peter Pospiech, Germany Editorial Consultant James R. McCaul, President, International Maritime Assoc.PRODUCTION Production Manager Irina Tabakina  tabakina@marinelink.comCORPORATE STAFF Manager, Accounting Esther Rothenberger  rothenberger@marinelink.com Manager, Public Relations Mark O?Malley  momalley@marinelink.com Manager, Marketing Jocelyn Redfern  jredfern@marinelink.com Manager, Information Vladimir Bibik  bibik@marinelink.com Technology Services CIRCULATION Circulation Manager Kathleen Hickey  mrcirc@marinelink.comSALESVice President of Sales & MarketingRob Howard  howard@marinelink.com Sales Administration Rhoda Morgan  morgan@marinelink.com & OfÞ ce Manager Sales & Event Coordinator Michelle Howard  mhoward@marinelink.com ClassiÞ ed Sales Manager Dale Barnett  barnett@marinelink.com; 212-477-6700Advertising Sales ManagerNational Sales Manager Terry Breese  breese@marinelink.com - Tel: (561) 732-1185; Fax: (561) 732-8414 Sales Representatives Lucia Annunziata  annunziata@marinelink.com - Tel: (212) 477-6700; Fax: (212) 254-6271 Frank Covella  covella@marinelink.com - Tel: (561) 732-1659; Fax: (561) 732-8063 Mitch Engel  engel@marinelink.com - Tel: (561) 732-0312; Fax: (561) 732-8063 Mike Kozlowski  kozlowski@marinelink.com - Tel: (561) 733-2477; Fax: (561) 732-9670 Dawn Trauthwein  trauthwein@marinelink.com - Tel: (631) 472-2715; Fax: (631) 868-3575 Jean Vertucci  vertucci@marinelink.com - Tel: (212) 477-6700; Fax: (212) 254-6271 Scandinavia Roland Persson  roland@orn.nu Orn Marketing AB, Box 184 , S-271 24 Ystad, Sweden Tel: +46 411-184 00 ; Fax: +46 411 105 31 Western Europe Uwe Riemeyer  riemeyer@intermediapartners.de Tel: +49 202 27169 0 ; Fax: +49 202 27169 20 United Kingdom Paul Barrett  ieaco@aol.com Hallmark House, 25 Downham Road, Ramsden Health, Essex CM11 1PU UK Tel: +44 1268 711560 M: +44 7778 357722 ; Fax: +44 1268 711567 Japan Katsuhiro Ishii  amskatsu@dream.com Ace Media Service Inc., 12-6, 4-chome, Nishiike, Adachi-ku, Tokyo 121, Japan Tel: +81 3 5691 3335 ; Fax: +81 3 5691 3336 Korea Jo, Young Sang  biscim.co.kr Business Communications Inc., Rm 1232, Gwanghwamoon Of cia Bldg., 163, 1-Ga, Shinmoon-Ro, Jongro-Gu, Seoul, Korea 110-999 Tel: +82 2 739 7840 ; Fax: +82 2 732 3662 www.marinelink.com Business Publications Audit of Circulation, Inc. MemberNEW YORK118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010 Tel: (212) 477-6700  Fax: (212) 254-6271 e-mail: mren@marinelink.comWeb: www.marinelink.com FLORIDA 215 NW 3rd St., Boynton Beach, FL 33435Tel: (561) 732-4368; Fax: (561) 732-6984 CONTENTSGOVERNMENT UPDATE 14 MLC AND THE U.S. What do the pending rules of the Maritime Labor Convention mean for those operating in and around the U.S.? By Dennis BryantCORROSION UPDATE 18 CATHODIC PROTECTION Remotely designed solutions to restore, maintain hull integrity. By Stephen HallINSURANCE UPDATE 18 RISKY BUSINESS Running a tight ship means identiÞ cation and mitigation of risk. By Kirk RiderLEGAL UPDATE 20 WHAT IS AN ?IRANIAN PERSON?? Knowing the answer to this seemingly simple, but immensely com-plex question, can help save your business.By Patrick Murphy141820MR #3 (1-9).indd 4MR #3 (1-9).indd 43/4/2013 5:01:48 PM3/4/2013 5:01:48 PM

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.