Page 4: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (January 2014)

Ship Repair & Conversion Edition

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of January 2014 Maritime Reporter Magazine

4 Maritime Reporter & Engineering News • JANUARY 2014

PUBLISHERS

John E. O’Malley

John C. O’Malley jomalley@marinelink.com

Associate Publisher & Editor

Gregory R Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.com

EDITORIAL Web Editor Eric Haun haun@marinelink.com Contributing Editors Dennis L. Bryant, Joseph Keefe, Ned Lundquist Correspondents Joseph Fonseca, India, Greg Knowler, China Claudio Pashoa, Brazil, Peter Pospiech, Germany Editorial Consultant James R. McCaul President, International Maritime Assoc.

PRODUCTION Production Manager Irina Tabakina tabakina@marinelink.com

CORPORATE STAFF Manager, Accounting Esther Rothenberger rothenberger@marinelink.com Manager, Public Relations Mark O’Malley momalley@marinelink.com Manager, Information Vladimir Bibik Technology Services bibik@marinelink.com

CIRCULATION Circulation Manager Kathleen Hickey mrcirc@marinelink.com

SALES

Vice President of Sales & Marketing

Rob Howard howard@marinelink.com

National Sales Manager Terry Breese breese@marinelink.com t: (561) 732-1185 f: (561) 732-8414

Sales Representatives Lucia Annunziata annunziata@marinelink.com t: (212) 477-6700 f: (212) 254-6271 Frank Covella covella@marinelink.com t: (561) 732-1659 f: (561) 732-8063 Mitch Engel engel@marinelink.com t: (561) 732-0312 f: (561) 732-8063 Mike Kozlowski kozlowski@marinelink.com t: (561) 733-2477 f: (561) 732-9670 Dawn Trauthwein dtrauthwein@marinelink.com t: (631) 472-2715 f: (631) 868-3575 Jean Vertucci vertucci@marinelink.com t: (212) 477-6700 f: (212) 254-6271 Sales & Event Coordinator Michelle Howard mhoward@marinelink.com

INTERNATIONAL SALES REPRESENTATIVES

Scandinavia Roland Persson roland@orn.nu Orn Marketing AB, Box 184 , S-271 24 Ystad, Sweden t: +46 411-184 00 f: +46 411 105 31

Western Europe Uwe Riemeyer riemeyer@intermediapartners.de t: +49 202 27169 0 f: +49 202 27169 20

United Kingdom Paul Barrett ieaco@aol.com Hallmark House, 25 Downham Road, Ramsden Health, Essex CM11 1PU UK t: +44 1268 711560 m: +44 7778 357722 f: +44 1268 711567

Japan Katsuhiro Ishii amskatsu@dream.com Ace Media Service Inc., 12-6, 4-chome, Nishiike, Adachi-ku, Tokyo 121, Japan t: +81 3 5691 3335 f: +81 3 5691 3336

Korea Jo, Young Sang biscim.co.kr Business Communications Inc., Rm 1232, Gwanghwamoon Offi cia Bldg., 163, 1-Ga, Shinmoon-Ro, Jongro-Gu, Seoul, Korea 110-999 t: +82 2 739 7840 f: +82 2 732 3662

Classifi ed Sales t: (212) 477-6700 www.marinelink.com

Member

NEW YORK 118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010

Tel: (212) 477-6700 • Fax: (212) 254-6271 e-mail: mren@marinelink.com

Web: www.marinelink.com

FLORIDA 215 NW 3rd St., Boynton Beach, FL 33435

Tel: (561) 732-4368; Fax: (561) 732-6984

Pictured on this month’s cover is he S.S. Patrick Henry, which was the fi rst of the Emergency

Class Liberty ships to be built and launched. The famous quote by its namesake helped to give this class of ships its name. Patricia Keefe’s coverage starts on page 32.

Did You Know?

Between 1941-1945, the U.S. built an unprecedented 5,777

Navy and Merchant ships. (Photo Credit: Library of Congress) 40 LNG IS THE CRYSTAL CLEAR ALTERNATIVE

Late last year Maritime Reporter hopped onboard Fjord Line’s Stavangerfjord, dubbed the most environmentally friendly ferry on the planet courtesy of its LNG Power.

By Peter Pospiech 46 VESSELS

Drillship Tungsten Explorer • Bravante’s New PSV • MHI to Build for Astomos • NYPD Gets First of Five • Cameroon Navy Takes Two from Spain 50 PROPULSION UPDATES

HamiltonJet HT900s for High Speed Crew Boat • Carnival Selects MAN Power • Marex OS II for CPP, Waterjets & Hybrid Drives • New Cummins Tier 4 Engine

LNG/Diesel MicroTurbines for Maritime Applications • MaK Engine Power Boost 52 PEOPLE & COMPANY NEWS 54 PRODUCTS: FUELS & LUBRICANTS 56 PRODUCTS: MARINE ELECTRONICS 58 PRODUCTS: MARITIME PROPULSION 59 BUYER’S GUIDE 60 CLASSIFIEDS 64 ADVERTISER’S INDEX

FROM OUR ARCHIVES THE COVER 40 46 46

CONTENTS NUMBER 1 / VOLUME 76 / JANUARY 2014

MR #1 (1-9).indd 4 1/8/2014 2:38:24 PM

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.