Page 4: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (March 2014)

U.S. Coast Guard Annual

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of March 2014 Maritime Reporter Magazine

4 Maritime Reporter & Engineering News • MARCH 2014

PUBLISHERS

John E. O’Malley

John C. O’Malley jomalley@marinelink.com

Associate Publisher & Editor

Gregory R Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.com

EDITORIAL Web Editor Eric Haun haun@marinelink.com Contributing Editors Dennis L. Bryant, Joseph Keefe, Ned Lundquist Correspondents Joseph Fonseca, India, Greg Knowler, China Claudio Pashoa, Brazil, Peter Pospiech, Germany Editorial Consultant James R. McCaul President, International Maritime Assoc.

PRODUCTION Production Manager Irina Tabakina tabakina@marinelink.com

CORPORATE STAFF Manager, Accounting Esther Rothenberger rothenberger@marinelink.com Manager, Public Relations Mark O’Malley momalley@marinelink.com Manager, Information Vladimir Bibik Technology Services bibik@marinelink.com

CIRCULATION Circulation Manager Kathleen Hickey mrcirc@marinelink.com

SALES

Vice President of Sales & Marketing

Rob Howard howard@marinelink.com

National Sales Manager Terry Breese breese@marinelink.com t: (561) 732-1185 f: (561) 732-8414

Sales Representatives Lucia Annunziata annunziata@marinelink.com t: (212) 477-6700 f: (212) 254-6271 Frank Covella covella@marinelink.com t: (561) 732-1659 f: (561) 732-8063 Mitch Engel engel@marinelink.com t: (561) 732-0312 f: (561) 732-8063 Mike Kozlowski kozlowski@marinelink.com t: (561) 733-2477 f: (561) 732-9670 Dawn Trauthwein dtrauthwein@marinelink.com t: (631) 472-2715 f: (631) 868-3575 Jean Vertucci vertucci@marinelink.com t: (212) 477-6700 f: (212) 254-6271 Sales & Event Coordinator Michelle Howard mhoward@marinelink.com

INTERNATIONAL SALES REPRESENTATIVES

Scandinavia Roland Persson roland@orn.nu Orn Marketing AB, Box 184 , S-271 24 Ystad, Sweden t: +46 411-184 00 f: +46 411 105 31

Western Europe Uwe Riemeyer riemeyer@intermediapartners.de t: +49 202 27169 0 f: +49 202 27169 20

United Kingdom Paul Barrett ieaco@aol.com Hallmark House, 25 Downham Road, Ramsden Health, Essex CM11 1PU UK t: +44 1268 711560 m: +44 7778 357722 f: +44 1268 711567

Japan Katsuhiro Ishii amskatsu@dream.com Ace Media Service Inc., 12-6, 4-chome, Nishiike, Adachi-ku, Tokyo 121, Japan t: +81 3 5691 3335 f: +81 3 5691 3336

Korea Jo, Young Sang biscim.co.kr Business Communications Inc., Rm 1232, Gwanghwamoon Offi cia Bldg., 163, 1-Ga, Shinmoon-Ro, Jongro-Gu, Seoul, Korea 110-999 t: +82 2 739 7840 f: +82 2 732 3662

Classifi ed Sales t: (212) 477-6700 www.marinelink.com

Member

NEW YORK 118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010

Tel: (212) 477-6700 • Fax: (212) 254-6271 e-mail: mren@marinelink.com

Web: www.marinelink.com

FLORIDA 215 NW 3rd St., Boynton Beach, FL 33435

Tel: (561) 732-4368; Fax: (561) 732-6984 14 OLD, DIRTY MACHINERY

A recent “Concentrated Inspection Campaign” sheds light on a matter of concern for older ships: machinery maintenance. 24 SOFTWARE SOLUTIONS

From remote monitoring & diagnosis of machinery to new explosion hazard software to ship design support, modern software solutions can streamline operations. 44 CARIBBEAN SECURITY CHALLENGES

Modern fast craft and training are sorely needed to shore up Caribbean security ops.

By Edward Lundquist 48 PATROL BOAT SHORTS

New designs, enhanced capabilities from fast craft designers & builders. 54 PROFILE: DEVON GRENNAN

The new CEO of Global Diving & Salvage discusses the companies strong history and promising future.

By Eric Haun 20 VESSELS 50 PEOPLE & COMPANY NEWS 56 NEW PRODUCTS: FIRE DETECTION & SUPPRESSION 59 BUYER’S GUIDE 60 CLASSIFIEDS 64 ADVERTISER’S INDEX

FROM OUR ARCHIVES THE COVER 20 46 54

CONTENTS NUMBER 3 / VOLUME 76 / MARCH 2014

Pictured on this month’s cover

The Umpire Boat for the 2013

Americas Cup. The Willard Marine 43 Assault was developed for military use from a Scarab offshore racing design and can achieve speeds over 60 knots. The 43 ft. (13m) high speed craft was initially prototyped in response to a request by the U.S. Navy for a high-speed combat mission boat. The U.S. took on all challengers to retain the Americas Cup as AC72 sailing boats hit speeds over 40 knots in

San Francisco Bay. Story starts on page 46. (Photo Credit: Willard Marine)

MR #3 (1-9).indd 4 3/5/2014 12:21:01 PM

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.