Page 6: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (March 2015)

U.S. Coast Guard Annual

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of March 2015 Maritime Reporter Magazine

EDITORIAL

MARITIME

REPORTER

AND

ENGINEERING NEWS

M A R I N E L I N K . C O M

HQ 118 E. 25th St., 2nd Floor

New York, NY 10010 USA

Tel +1 212 477 6700

Fax +1 212 254 6271 www.marinelink.com

FL Of? ce 215 NW 3rd St

Boynton Beach, FL 33435-4009

Tel +1 561 732 4368

Fax +1 561 732 6984

The MAN

Publishers

John E. O’Malley

John C. O’Malley jomalley@marinelink.com in Command

Associate Publisher/Editorial Director

Greg Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.com

Vice President, Sales

Rob Howard howard@marinelink.com

GREG TRAUTHWEIN, EDITOR & ASSOCIATE PUBLISHER

Web Editor

Eric Haun haun@marinelink.com

Web Contributor

Michelle Howard howard@marinelink.com had never personally met with U.S. Coast Today’s Coast Guard is a virtual

Editorial

George Backwell - Thailand;

Guard Commandant Admiral Paul Zu- ‘Swiss Army Knife,’ with broad and

Joseph Fonseca - India

Claudio Paschoa - Brazil kunft before I sat with him in his of? ce at crucial responsibilities in protect-

Peter Pospiech - Germany

Coast Guard headquarters in Washington, ing the best interests of the United

Production

D.C., last month, but having sat with a States. For this industry there are

I

Irina Tabakina tabakina@marinelink.com

Nicole Ventimiglia nicole@marinelink.com long list of government, military and corporate several immediate pressing matters

Corporate Staff leaders in my time, my expectations were some- that we discuss. On the regulatory

Mark O’Malley, Public Relations

Esther Rothenberger, Accounting one who was con? dent, focused and, well, com- front, Ballast Water Technology

Gabby DelGatto, Of? ce Manager manding. He’s all that and more, but what I did Systems and Subchapter M unin-

Information Technology

Vladimir Bibik not expect was that the Commandant would be spected towing vessel regulations

Emin Tule

Christopher Lee faster than I to the Tweet! (I rationalize by telling are both priority one. On the former,

Subscription myself that his Public Affairs staff offers a quick Admiral Zukunft insists that the

Kathleen Hickey k.hickey@marinelink.com hand in this regard). Admiral Zukunft is a perfect current course of independent lab

Sales

Lucia Annunziata annunziata@marinelink.com interview for our pages any day, but particularly veri? cation of the technology is the +1 212 477 6700

Terry Breese breese@marinelink.com this edition, our “U.S. Coast Guard Annual.” only path, saying “once we have the +1 561 732 1185

Frank Covella covella@marinelink.com

Admiral Zukunft, like every Commandant be- technology box checked, we can +1 561 732 1659

Mitch Engel engel@marinelink.com fore and every one to come, has a large, diverse, move briskly in putting forward the +1 561 732 0312

Mike Kozlowski kozlowski@marinelink.com ever-challenging and always changing plate of ? nal rule.” +1 561 733 2477

Dawn Trauthwein dtrauthwein@marinelink.com responsibilities. His ‘short list’ is actually a rather long list, as The other area of high interest is the status of the Offshore +1 631 472 2715

Jean Vertucci vertucci@marinelink.com

Admiral Zukunft seeks to drive sexual assault out of the Coast Patrol Cutter (OPC). To put its importance in perspective, +1 212 477 6700

Guard; prepare the ? eet for operations through 2061; thwart Admiral Zukunft said that the OPC will be his de? ning mo-

International Sales

Scandinavia illegal drug ? ow into this country with an ever widening and ment, as it is the largest investment in USCG history and will

Roland Persson roland@orn.nu

Orn Marketing AB, Box 184 , S-271 24 much improving toolbox of intelligence assets; and envision a be designed to operate beyond 2060. The ? nal selection of the

Ystad, Sweden t: +46 411-184 00 f: +46 411 105 31 plan to bolster our capability in the Arctic. And that’s just for shipbuilding team to build OPC is currently scheduled to be

Western Europe starters. announced in Q4 2016.

Uwe Riemeyer riemeyer@intermediapartners.de t: +49 202 27169 0 f: +49 202 27169 20

United Kingdom

Paul Barrett ieaco@aol.com

Hallmark House, 25 Downham Road, Ramsden

Health, Essex CM11 1PU UK t: +44 1268 711560 m: +44 7778 357722 f: +44 1268 711567

Japan

Katsuhiro Ishii amskatsu@dream.com

Ace Media Service Inc., 12-6, 4-chome, Nishiike,

Adachi-ku, Tokyo 121, Japan t: +81 3 5691 3335 f: +81 3 5691 3336 trauthwein@marinelink.com

Korea

Jo, Young Sang biscom@biscom.co.kr

Business Communications Inc., Rm 1232,

Gwanghwamoon Of? cia Bldg., 163, 1-Ga, Shinmoon-Ro, Jongro-Gu,

Seoul, Korea 110-999 t: +82 2 739 7840 f: +82 2 732 3662

Check out our other websites:

Classi? ed Sales t: (212) 477-6700

MarineLink.com MaritimeJobs.com MarineElectronics.com

Founder:

MaritimeProfessional.com MarineTechnologyNews.com YachtingJournal.com

John J. O’Malley 1905 - 1980

MaritimePropulsion.com MaritimeEquipment.com MaritimeToday.com

Charles P. O’Malley 1928 - 2000

Download our App iPhone & Android 6 Maritime Reporter & Engineering News • MARCH 2015

MR #3 (1-9).indd 6 MR #3 (1-9).indd 6 3/6/2015 9:13:57 AM3/6/2015 9:13:57 AM

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.