Page 8: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (March 2016)

Green Marine Technology

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of March 2016 Maritime Reporter Magazine

EDITORIAL

MARITIME

REPORTER

AND

ENGINEERING NEWS

M A R I N E L I N K . C O M

HQ 118 E. 25th St., 2nd Floor

New York, NY 10010 USA

Tel +1 212 477 6700

Fax +1 212 254 6271 www.marinelink.com

FL Of? ce 215 NW 3rd St

Boynton Beach, FL 33435-4009

Tel +1 561 732 4368

Fax +1 561 732 6984

Publishers

John E. O’Malley

John C. O’Malley jomalley@marinelink.com

Associate Publisher/Editorial Director

Greg Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.com

GREG TRAUTHWEIN, EDITOR & ASSOCIATE PUBLISHER

Vice President, Sales

Rob Howard howard@marinelink.com

Web Editor

Eric Haun haun@marinelink.com

Having sat in the editor’s seat of Maritime Reporter & Engi-

Web Contributor

Michelle Howard howard@marinelink.com neering News for more than 20 years, it is always a thrill when we are able to ‘step out’ and present something we’ve never

Editorial

Joseph Fonseca - India done before. As this is the ‘Sea Japan’ edition, it is my honor

Claudio Paschoa - Brazil

Peter Pospiech - Germany to present a one-on-one interview with VADM Satoshi NAKA-

JIMA, Japan Coast Guard, who shares with Maritime Reporter

Production & Engineering News not only the rich history and current

Irina Vasilets vasilets@marinelink.com

Nicole Ventimiglia nicole@marinelink.com status of the service, but also the drivers for investment and the

Corporate Staff challenges faced by the Japan Coast Guard in a rapidly chang-

Mark O’Malley, Public Relations

Esther Rothenberger, Accounting ing and sometimes contentious atmosphere. Our interview with

Information Technology

VADM Satoshi NAKAJIMA starts on page 50.

Vladimir Bibik

Emin Tule

While the Japan Coast Guard interview is unique in these pages, there are several additional areas of coverage you have

Subscription seen many times ... and are sure to see many more times: The

Kathleen Hickey k.hickey@marinelink.com

Environment and Training & Education.

Environmental mandates are shaping nearly every sector of

Sales

Lucia Annunziata annunziata@marinelink.com the maritime market, from the way in which ships are de- +1 212 477 6700

Terry Breese breese@marinelink.com signed, built, out? tted and operated during their lifecycle. To +1 561 732 1185

Frank Covella covella@marinelink.com this end our ‘Green Marine Solutions’ section, starting on page +1 561 732 1659

Mitch Engel engel@marinelink.com 40, is ? lled with stories on the way in which several maritime +1 561 732 0312

Mike Kozlowski kozlowski@marinelink.com companies are leading the charge toward zero emissions. It +1 561 733 2477

Dawn Trauthwein dtrauthwein@marinelink.com does not stop there, instead it really starts on page 20 with a +1 631 472 2715

Jean Vertucci vertucci@marinelink.com series of three articles featuring topical conversation regarding +1 212 477 6700 latest decisions on emerging maritime fuels, from methanol to

LNG to Biofuels.

International Sales

Scandinavia

Training & Education is another recurring theme in our pag-

Roland Persson roland@orn.nu

Orn Marketing AB, Box 184 , S-271 24 es. On page 14 we have the third and ? nal installment of Mur-

Ystad, Sweden t: +46 411-184 00 f: +46 411 105 31 ray Goldberg’s trilogy on “Continuous Improvement.” Starting

Western Europe on page 26 we have a 14-page section dedicated mainly to the

Uwe Riemeyer riemeyer@intermediapartners.de t: +49 202 27169 0 f: +49 202 27169 20 latest trends and technologies in the ? eld of maritime simula-

United Kingdom tion.

Paul Barrett ieaco@aol.com

Hallmark House, 25 Downham Road, Ramsden

Health, Essex CM11 1PU UK t: +44 1268 711560 m: +44 7778 357722 f: +44 1268 711567

Classi? ed Sales t: (212) 477-6700

Founder:

John J. O’Malley 1905 - 1980

Charles P. O’Malley 1928 - 2000 trauthwein@marinelink.com 8 Maritime Reporter & Engineering News • MARCH 2016

MR #3 (1-9).indd 8 3/4/2016 10:14:30 AM

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.