Page 8: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (July 2016)

Marine Communications Edition

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of July 2016 Maritime Reporter Magazine

EDITORIAL

MARITIME

REPORTER

AND

ENGINEERING NEWS

M A R I N E L I N K . C O M

HQ 118 E. 25th St., 2nd Floor

New York, NY 10010 USA

Tel +1 212 477 6700

Fax +1 212 254 6271 www.marinelink.com

FL Of? ce 215 NW 3rd St

Boynton Beach, FL 33435-4009

Tel +1 561 732 4368

Fax +1 561 732 6984

Publishers

John E. O’Malley

John C. O’Malley jomalley@marinelink.com

Associate Publisher/Editorial Director

Greg Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.com

GREG TRAUTHWEIN, EDITOR & ASSOCIATE PUBLISHER

Vice President, Sales

Rob Howard howard@marinelink.com

Web Editor

Eric Haun haun@marinelink.com

Web Contributor sk anyone who knows me, Sa powered by Cummins diesel engines,

Michelle Howard howard@marinelink.com

I love to eat ? sh. Most any featured on page 40.

Editorial variety, most any time, I’ll eat But innovation in the maritime sector is “Give a man a ? sh and you

Joseph Fonseca - India

Tom Mulligan - UK ? sh. Unfortunately though, surely not relegated to the booming ? shing

A

Claudio Paschoa - Brazil feed him for a day; teach a

Peter Pospiech - Germany if you’re stuck with me on the water and vessel market, as the cover of this month’s

William Stoichevski - Norway hungry, I’m not the one you want manning edition will surely attest. Let me start by man to ? sh and you feed

Production the ? shing pole. Despite a lifetime of trips saying that this certainly wasn’t planned to

Irina Vasilets vasilets@marinelink.com

Nicole Ventimiglia nicole@marinelink.com and countless advice from my brother be the “Drone” edition, but in publications him for a lifetime.”

Corporate Staff

Rick – the brother who decidedly received as in life, opportunities arise that simply

Mark O’Malley, Marketing Manager

Esther Rothenberger, Accounting the majority of ‘outdoorsman genetics’ in can’t be missed. The attorney of Blank

Information Technology our family – ? sh basically laugh at me. Rome have been long-time and valued

Vladimir Bibik

Philosopher Maimonides

Emin Tule

Perhaps subliminally this is why I was contributors to our pages, and this month so keen to work to feature innovation Sean T. Pribyl came to us with an article

Source: www.brainyquote.com

Subscription and investment in the commercial ? shing regarding the risk and reward of aerial

Kathleen Hickey k.hickey@marinelink.com sector this year, both in this title and in drone operations in the maritime sector sister-publication MarineNews, as I am solidly dependent upon that was an instant hit. Many of my conversations tradition-

Sales

Lucia Annunziata annunziata@marinelink.com the professional men, women and boats of the world’s ? shing ally center on the incorporation of emerging technologies, and +1 212 477 6700 ext 6220

Terry Breese breese@marinelink.com industry to keep well-fed. while the maritime sector is generally regarded as conserva- +1 561 732 1185

Frank Covella covella@marinelink.com

This month is Part III of our Fisheries Fleet Review authored tive in its adoption of new technologies, the sector is also quite +1 561 732 1659

Mitch Engel engel@marinelink.com by William Stoichevski, our contributor seated in Oslo. Part of ‘thrifty,’ and when it comes to saving money or generating +1 561 732 0312

Mike Kozlowski kozlowski@marinelink.com

William’s mandate this year has been to scout emerging ? shing revenue no stone is left unturned. Insights on how drones are +1 561 733 2477

Dawn Trauthwein dtrauthwein@marinelink.com ? eet investment from around the world, and as it turns out the starting to be deployed by shipowners, shipbuilders, classi? ca- +1 212 477 6700 ext 6230

Jean Vertucci vertucci@marinelink.com

July edition is in his own backyard, entitled ‘Buying Norwe- tion and the offshore industry starts on page 22.

+1 212 477 6700 ext 6210 gian,’ starting on page 36. Investment and innovation in the But drones in and of themselves really are just the tip of the world’s ? shing ? eet has been unlike any I’ve seen since ? rst iceberg, as in the big picture ... call it what you will, ‘Big Data’

International Sales sitting in this seat in 1992, as there seemingly has been a global or ‘The Internet of Things’ ... it is the collection, analysis and

Scandinavia

Roland Persson roland@orn.nu mandate invest in new means to catch and bring to market ultimately the deployment of of actionable information that is

Orn Marketing AB, Box 184 , S-271 24

Ystad, Sweden food from the sea. Case in point is the burgeoning business of the driving force in today’s maritime industry. t: +46 411-184 00 f: +46 411 105 31 ‘? sh farming’ and the development of the world’s ? rst offshore This edition is packed with articles on how successful com-

Western Europe

Uwe Riemeyer riemeyer@intermediapartners.de rig farm (page 38). Also, ? shing ? eet investment has been panies are using information to make their operations safer, t: +49 202 27169 0 f: +49 202 27169 20 the mandate of the Vietnamese government, courtesy of its more ef? cient and more pro? table. Information will feed you

United Kingdom

Paul Barrett ieaco@aol.com “Directive No. 67,” a mandate which has resulted in signi? cant today; learning to leverage this information to improve your

Hallmark House, 25 Downham Road, Ramsden

Health, Essex CM11 1PU UK investment in new commercial ? shing tonnage, such as ? sher- business and open markets will sustain you for a lifetime.

t: +44 1268 711560 m: +44 7778 357722 f: +44 1268 711567 man Bui Mong brand new ? berglass boat Ju Mong Truong

Classi? ed Sales t: (212) 477-6700

Founder:

John J. O’Malley 1905 - 1980

Charles P. O’Malley 1928 - 2000 trauthwein@marinelink.com 8 Maritime Reporter & Engineering News • JULY 2016

MR #7 (1-9).indd 8 7/7/2016 3:47:45 PM

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.