Page 6: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (March 2017)

The Green Marine Technology Edition

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of March 2017 Maritime Reporter Magazine

EDITORIAL

MARITIME

REPORTER

AND

ENGINEERING NEWS

M A R I N E L I N K . C O M

HQ 118 E. 25th St., 2nd Floor

New York, NY 10010 USA

Tel +1 212 477 6700

Fax +1 212 254 6271 www.marinelink.com

FL Of? ce 215 NW 3rd St

Boynton Beach, FL 33435-4009

Tel +1 561 732 4368

Fax +1 561 732 6984

Publishers

John E. O’Malley

John C. O’Malley jomalley@marinelink.com

Associate Publisher/Editorial Director

Greg Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.com

GREG TRAUTHWEIN, EDITOR & ASSOCIATE PUBLISHER

Vice President, Sales

Rob Howard howard@marinelink.com

Web Editor

Eric Haun haun@marinelink.com s this is Maritime Reporter & Engineer- Looking toward the Green Marine topic, the days of

Web Contributor ing News’ ‘Green Marine’ annual, one using “Green” as just a marketing slogan are long gone.

Michelle Howard howard@marinelink.com might be surprised to see a recent photo The push to make marine operations – already the most

Editorial of President Trump gracing our cover. ef? cient and environmentally benign means to move cargo

Tom Mulligan - UK

Claudio Paschoa - Brazil

Regardless of your personal feeling or from Point A to Point B – even cleaner is rapidly under-

Peter Pospiech - Germany

William Stoichevski - Norway political view, the story of President way. Earlier this year our Tom Mulligan initiated a series

A

Trump and his new administration is arguably the mari- of articles centered on the new fuel rules from the IMO

Production

Irina Vasilets vasilets@marinelink.com time story of the year, as it touches on nearly every sector, which effectively reduces sulfur content in marine fuel to

Nicole Ventimiglia nicole@marinelink.com from defense and national security to international com- 0.5% by 2020. The series continues this month with an

Corporate Staff

Mark O’Malley, Marketing Manager merce and infrastructure. insightful look at marine scrubber technology. It wasn’t

Esther Rothenberger, Accounting

For the purposes of this edition the focus is squarely on long ago that scrubbers were seen as ‘too big’ or ‘too ex-

Information Technology

Vladimir Bibik the Navy, the kick-off to our 2017 Navy Quarterly cover- pensive,’ but the technology has been gaining strong favor

Emin Yuce age. As we were going to press the president announced, as a preferred method to meet new regulations. Mulligan’s among other things, the plan to inject an additional $54 report starts on page 38, and is followed on page 44 with

Subscription

Kathleen Hickey k.hickey@marinelink.com billion into defense spending, with the intent to rebuild the Eric Haun’s interview of Mark Barker at The Interlake

U.S. Navy high on the list. Regardless of administration, Steamship Company, a U.S.-? ag leader in the adoption of the shape and direction of the U.S. Navy is always fertile scrubber technology.

Sales

Lucia Annunziata annunziata@marinelink.com editorial fodder, both from its size and physical make up, Finally, the matter of subdued oil pricing and a cloudy +1 212 477 6700 ext 6220

Terry Breese breese@marinelink.com as well as the technology that it develops and brings to at best future for the development of offshore oil and gas +1 561 732 1185 the fore. When I sat in this seat for the ? rst time in 1992, assets – particularly in the more costly deep waters – con-

John Cagni cagni@marinelink.com 631-472-2715 +1 the U.S. Navy ... in terms of ? eet size ... was already in tinues to dampen a certain sector of the market. With that,

Frank Covella covella@marinelink.com +1 561 732 1659 decline with the end of the Cold War, the degradation of you may be surprised to know that William Stoicheviski’s

Mitch Engel engel@marinelink.com

Russia as a military power and threat, and the change in pro? le of the maritime business in Singapore is slightly +1 561 732 0312 course from President Reagan’s “600 ship navy.” Today upbeat. Stoichevski is our contributor situated in Oslo,

Mike Kozlowski kozlowski@marinelink.com +1 561 733 2477 the U.S. Navy force level is 274 ships, and while the num- Norway, a country with its fate and fortune closely tied to

Jean Vertucci vertucci@marinelink.com +1 212 477 6700 ext 6210 bers surrounding the ‘new’ navy continue to ? uctuate, the offshore energy production. Here, and half a world away number “355” has gained some traction. Starting on page in Singapore, Stoichevski ? nds hope and prosperity, as 20, Edward Lundquist aims to add some shape, form and shipyards that were dedicated to offshore oil have invested

International Sales

Scandinavia perspective toward the march to a larger navy, including and essentially reinvented themselves to serve new and

Roland Persson roland@orn.nu

Orn Marketing AB, Box 184 , S-271 24 some crucial questions as to the funding. emerging markets.

Ystad, Sweden t: +46 411-184 00 f: +46 411 105 31

Western Europe

Uwe Riemeyer riemeyer@intermediapartners.de t: +49 202 27169 0 f: +49 202 27169 20

United Kingdom

Paul Barrett ieaco@aol.com

Hallmark House, 25 Downham Road, Ramsden

Health, Essex CM11 1PU UK t: +44 1268 711560 m: +44 7778 357722 f: +44 1268 711567 trauthwein@marinelink.com

Classi? ed Sales t: (212) 477-6700

Check out our websites:

Founder:

MarineLink.com MaritimeEquipment.com

MaritimeProfessional.com MarineElectronics.com

John J. O’Malley 1905 - 1980

MaritimePropulsion.com YachtingJournal.com

Charles P. O’Malley 1928 - 2000

MaritimeJobs.com MaritimeToday.com

MarineTechnologyNews.com TheMaritimeNetwork.com 6 Maritime Reporter & Engineering News • MARCH 2017

MR #3 (1-9).indd 6 MR #3 (1-9).indd 6 3/7/2017 3:36:12 PM3/7/2017 3:36:12 PM

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.