Page 6: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (June 2017)

The Annual World Yearbook

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of June 2017 Maritime Reporter Magazine

EDITORIAL

MARITIME

REPORTER

AND

ENGINEERING NEWS

M A R I N E L I N K . C O M

HQ 118 E. 25th St., 2nd Floor

New York, NY 10010 USA

Tel +1 212 477 6700

Fax +1 212 254 6271 www.marinelink.com

FL Of? ce 215 NW 3rd St

Boynton Beach, FL 33435-4009

Tel +1 561 732 4368

Fax +1 561 732 6984

Publishers

John E. O’Malley

John C. O’Malley jomalley@marinelink.com

Associate Publisher/Editorial Director

Greg Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.com

GREG TRAUTHWEIN, EDITOR & ASSOCIATE PUBLISHER

Vice President, Sales

Rob Howard howard@marinelink.com

Web Editor

Eric Haun haun@marinelink.com

Web Contributor

Michelle Howard howard@marinelink.com losing the losing the Yearbook edition was a particular challenge are some market drivers to watch:

Editorial this year, this year, as it was directly on the heels of my return • U.S. Navy: Edward Lundquist delivered a com-

Tom Mulligan - UK

Claudio Paschoa - Brazil from Nor from NorShipping in Oslo. NorShipping is traditionally prehensive analysis of the challenge ahead to grow and

William Stoichevski - Scandinavia the one of the one of the world’s stronger maritime events, and show fund the U.S. Navy ? eet of the future. His report starts manage managem management again delivered a high-quality show, com- on page 34, and it includes links to an extended report

Production

C

Irina Vasilets vasilets@marinelink.com hi prehensive and topical. I have attended the event since online at www.MarineLink.com

Nicole Ventimiglia nicole@marinelink.com 1993 without fail, and while the show was delivered • Dredging: The dredging community has not

Corporate Staff

Mark O’Malley, Marketing Manager with traditional Scandinavian ? air, it was noticeably been immune to market ? uctuations, but the unique

Esther Rothenberger, Accounting down from years past. That said, for anyone serious work of this critically important sector is highlighted in

Information Technology

Vladimir Bibik about the global commercial maritime industry, it is a an eight-page report starting on page 26.

Emin Yuce worthwhile investment of time and money to make the • Hybrid Drives & Marine Fuel: While precise trek to Norway every two years, as invariably it at- numbers are hard to pin down, there is a palpable

Subscription

Kathleen Hickey k.hickey@marinelink.com tracts some of the biggest names in shipping. We had an ground swell of interest and support in innovative drive outstanding exhibition, as I was able to conduct nearly solutions. All of the engine majors are actively engaged

Sales two dozen video interviews with a variety of corporate in acquisition and development, and starting on page

Lucia Annunziata annunziata@marinelink.com +1 212 477 6700 ext 6220 leaders in our Maritime Reporter TV ‘studio’ in the 69 William P. Doyle delivers a compelling overview

Terry Breese breese@marinelink.com main hallway. Even better for me personally was the of natural gas as marine fuel as we prepare for the new +1 561 732 1185 opportunity to bring my oldest son Shane to Oslo for global fuel regulations coming in 2020.

John Cagni cagni@marinelink.com 631-472-2715 +1 the week, just two days after his college graduation and • “Big Data” & “Disruption”: Use the buzz-

Frank Covella covella@marinelink.com +1 561 732 1659 before he enters his career later this summer, using his word du jour of your liking, but this industry is em-

Mitch Engel engel@marinelink.com degree in Applied Mathematics and Statistics to effec- barked ? rmly on the path of data as a differentiator. +1 561 732 0312 tively remove himself from my payroll! How far we are from the much-discussed ‘airline indus-

Mike Kozlowski kozlowski@marinelink.com +1 561 733 2477

Winnowing the topics for this edition was – as always try’ model, I can honestly say that I have no clue. What

Jean Vertucci vertucci@marinelink.com +1 212 477 6700 ext 6210 – the biggest challenge of the year. You certainly don’t I do know: if you are not actively seeking the means to need an advanced degree in mathematics to tell you that use information to optimize your operations, you can be these have been a fairly tough few years. But as always, sure that your competitors – both the ones you know as

International Sales

Scandinavia there are bright spots to be found. Looking ahead, here well as the ones you don’t – are.

Roland Persson roland@orn.nu

Orn Marketing AB, Box 184 , S-271 24

Ystad, Sweden t: +46 411-184 00 f: +46 411 105 31

Western Europe

Uwe Riemeyer riemeyer@intermediapartners.de t: +49 202 27169 0 f: +49 202 27169 20

United Kingdom

Paul Barrett ieaco@aol.com

Hallmark House, 25 Downham Road, Ramsden

Health, Essex CM11 1PU UK t: +44 1268 711560 m: +44 7778 357722 f: +44 1268 711567 trauthwein@marinelink.com

Classi? ed Sales +1 212 477 6700

Check out our websites:

Founder:

MarineLink.com MaritimeEquipment.com

MaritimeProfessional.com MarineElectronics.com

John J. O’Malley 1905 - 1980

MaritimePropulsion.com YachtingJournal.com

Charles P. O’Malley 1928 - 2000

MaritimeJobs.com MaritimeToday.com

MarineTechnologyNews.com TheMaritimeNetwork.com 6 Maritime Reporter & Engineering News • JUNE 2017

MR #6 (1-9).indd 6 MR #6 (1-9).indd 6 6/9/2017 12:46:07 PM6/9/2017 12:46:07 PM

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.