Page 6: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (September 2018)

Maritime Port & Ship Security

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of September 2018 Maritime Reporter Magazine

MARITIME

REPORTER

AND

ENGINEERING NEWS

M A R I N E L I N K . C O M

HQ 118 E. 25th St., 2nd Floor

EDITORIAL

New York, NY 10010 USA

Tel +1 212 477 6700

Fax +1 212 254 6271 www.marinelink.com

FL Of? ce 215 NW 3rd St

Boynton Beach, FL 33435-4009

Tel +1 561 732 4368

Fax +1 561 732 6984

Publishers

John E. O’Malley

John C. O’Malley jomalley@marinelink.com

Associate Publisher/Editorial Director

Making the Connection

Greg Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.com

Vice President, Sales

Rob Howard howard@marinelink.com

Web Editor

Eric Haun haun@marinelink.com

The marine industry’s move toward digitalization ... big data ... the fourth industrial revolution ... call it what you will, is palpable.

Web Contributor

On writing this September’s editorial I have just arrived in Hamburg, Germany for my 14th SMM exhibition, and nowhere else

Michelle Howard mhoward@marinelink.com is it more clear that the this evolution is in full swing. When I started attending the SMM exhibition in 1992, the exhibition halls

Editorial Contributors

Elaine Maslin - Scotland were ? lled with heavy machinery – mammoth diesels engines, gearboxes, propellers and bridge systems. Today, in 2018, there is

Tom Mulligan - UK

Claudio Paschoa - Brazil a decided lack of heavy machinery, replaced with displays touting digital solutions.

Peter Pospiech - Germany

William Stoichevski - Scandinavia

As we all know, as we all have seen, digital promise comes with the potential for peril in the form of cyber breaches. This

Production month starting on page 32, Patricia Keefe reports on ports’ efforts to raise their collective cyber security game. But this is not

Irina Vasilets vasilets@marinelink.com

Nicole Ventimiglia nicole@marinelink.com just a port story, in fact far from it. In today’s 24/7/365 world of ‘always on, always connected’ logistics and support, this cyber

Corporate Staff security issue transcends country or industry.

Mark O’Malley, Marketing Manager

Esther Rothenberger, Accounting

The ‘connected’ ship today is not simply a seamless connection between ship and shore, indeed it is much more. Today’s ship

Information Technology is simply one node in the interconnected logistics web, and a disruption in one node can quickly and seamlessly spread globally,

Vladimir Bibik quickly. The best-known incident was the “notPetya” malware outbreak in October 2017, which struck A.P. Moller-Maersk’s IT

Emin Yuce department, and through that, it’s APM terminals at ports worldwide, including at Los Angeles, Long Beach and NY/Newark.

Subscription

Kathleen Hickey k.hickey@marinelink.com

The shutdown there and at other ports, and the ensuing cleanup of backlog, cost Maersk around $300 million.

While the Maersk incident was arguably the most publicized, trust that there are many more daily, around the globe, that

Sales

Lucia Annunziata annunziata@marinelink.com threaten to disrupt the maritime industry and the global logistics chain. The challenge today is for operators globally to learn +1 212 477 6700 ext 6220 from past mistakes, while plotting for the future.

Terry Breese breese@marinelink.com +1 561 732 1185

Looking at the traditional ‘hardware’ side of our business, I am very happy to present an article from Jeff Ding, starting on

John Cagni cagni@marinelink.com 631-472-2715 +1 page 42 entitled ‘NASA Welding Technologies: Could Revolutionize Workboat Fabrication’ which discusses how solid-state

Frank Covella covella@marinelink.com welding processes being developed for NASA manufacturing programs could signi? cantly reduce workboat fabrication costs. +1 561 732 1659

The author began his career at NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center in June, 1986, and he brought the friction stir welding

Mitch Engel engel@marinelink.com +1 561 732 0312 (FSW) process to the NASA agency in 1995/1996 time frame when he secured a 14 ton Kearney and Trecker Horizontal boring

Mike Kozlowski kozlowski@marinelink.com +1 561 733 2477 mill and converted it to NASA’s ? rst FSW system. He completed his ? rst FSW welds November 1996. He continued FSW

Jean Vertucci vertucci@marinelink.com development as well as ultrasonic stir weld (USW) and thermal stir weld (TSW) since 1996 and has authored 13 U.S. patents in +1 212 477 6700 ext 6210 solid state welding technology.

International Sales

Scandinavia & Germany

Roland Persson roland@orn.nu

Orn Marketing AB, Box 184 , S-271 24

Ystad, Sweden t: +46 411-184 00 f: +46 411 105 31

United Kingdom

Paul Barrett ieaco@aol.com

Hallmark House, 25 Downham Road, Ramsden

Health, Essex CM11 1PU UK t: +44 1268 711560 m: +44 7778 357722 f: +44 1268 711567

Classi? ed Sales +1 212 477 6700

Gregory R. Trauthwein

Founder:

John J. O’Malley 1905 - 1980

Editor & Associate Publisher

Charles P. O’Malley 1928 - 2000 trauthwein@marinelink.com

Watch us Download our Apps Follow us on Social Media Check out our websites:

MarineLink.com MaritimeEquipment.com

MaritimeProfessional.com MarineElectronics.com

MaritimePropulsion.com YachtingJournal.com

MaritimeJobs.com MaritimeToday.com

MarineTechnologyNews.com TheMaritimeNetwork.com @ShipNews 6 Maritime Reporter & Engineering News • SEPTEMBER 2018

MR #9 (1-9).indd 6 MR #9 (1-9).indd 6 9/7/2018 9:18:36 AM9/7/2018 9:18:36 AM

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.