Page 6: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (December 2018)

Great Ships of 2018

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of December 2018 Maritime Reporter Magazine

MARITIME

REPORTER

AND

ENGINEERING NEWS

M A R I N E L I N K . C O M

HQ 118 E. 25th St., 2nd Floor

EDITORIAL

New York, NY 10010 USA

Tel +1 212 477 6700

Fax +1 212 254 6271 www.marinelink.com

FL Of? ce 215 NW 3rd St

Boynton Beach, FL 33435-4009

Tel +1 561 732 4368

Fax +1 561 732 6984

Publishers

John E. O’Malley

John C. O’Malley jomalley@marinelink.com

Associate Publisher/Editorial Director

Giving ‘Thanks’

Greg Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.com

Vice President, Sales

Rob Howard howard@marinelink.com

Web Editor

Eric Haun haun@marinelink.com

Web Contributor

Michelle Howard mhoward@marinelink.com

Closing out the year 2018 has been more manic than ever, with nearly 10 straight and Maritime Risk, held at Oak

Editorial Contributors interrupted only by our Thanksgiving holiday break in the U.S. That Ridge National Laboratory. Both weeks of travel

Elaine Maslin - Scotland

Tom Mulligan - UK was a timely interlude, as it gave me ample time to re? ect on the year and ponder what events were small but packed

Claudio Paschoa - Brazil

Peter Pospiech - Germany

I had to give ‘thanks’ for in the maritime sector. In no particular order, it goes some- with “A-List” executives, and

William Stoichevski - Scandinavia thing like this: it was at the latter event where

Production

I had the chance to have a great

Irina Vasilets vasilets@marinelink.com

Nicole Ventimiglia nicole@marinelink.com • ‘Thanks’ for the IMO: The International Maritime Organization (IMO) has been conversation with Jim Bennett,

Corporate Staff the driver in one of this industry’s most dramatic shifts ever, that being the reduc- BOEM’s Chief of the Of? ce of

Mark O’Malley, Marketing Manager

Esther Rothenberger, Accounting tion and eventual elimination of greenhouse gas emissions from ships. There are Renewable Energy, which solidi-

Information Technology many strong feelings within the industry regarding the IMO itself and some of ? ed my thoughts on the prospects

Vladimir Bibik

Emin Yuce the recent IMO decisions, particular the rapidity of the decision to reduce sulfur for offshore wind.

Subscription emissions from marine fuels to 0.5% by January 1, 2020. While many shipown-

Kathleen Hickey k.hickey@marinelink.com ers continue to struggle with making the best short and long-term decision for

Sales their ? eets in this regard, this rule and the new proposed mandate to reduce GHG • ‘Thanks’ to You: When I sit back

Lucia Annunziata annunziata@marinelink.com +1 212 477 6700 ext 6220 emissions 50% by 2050 has sparked an incredible amount of technology study and think that I’ve been in this

Terry Breese breese@marinelink.com and development, with Danish shipping giant Maersk recently announcing its seat for 26 years, I am somewhat +1 561 732 1185 own emission mandate for 2050: Zero. amazed and humbled. Maritime

John Cagni cagni@marinelink.com 631-472-2715 +1 is an incredible and tight-knit

Frank Covella covella@marinelink.com +1 561 732 1659 community, and the people that

Mitch Engel engel@marinelink.com • ‘Thanks’ for LNG: This has been, and will be, the year of LNG. When we talk work in it are drivers in keeping +1 561 732 0312

LNG, it’s not only as a marine fuel, because the jury is still out on which fuel global commerce humming. To

Mike Kozlowski kozlowski@marinelink.com +1 561 733 2477 or combination will emerge as the ‘winner’ in the bid to replace diesel. LNG in our loyal readers and advertisers;

Jean Vertucci vertucci@marinelink.com overview has been and will continue to be a driver in investment, from port infra- to our biggest supporters and our +1 212 477 6700 ext 6210 structure to ship design and construction to marine equipment. harshest critics, thanks to you for

International Sales your continued interest and sup-

Scandinavia & Germany

Roland Persson roland@orn.nu port.

Orn Marketing AB, Box 184 , S-271 24

Ystad, Sweden • ‘Thanks’ for Offshore Wind: The U.S. is a full generation behind Europe in the t: +46 411-184 00 f: +46 411 105 31 exploitation of renewable energy sources in the offshore sector, but I am decid-

United Kingdom edly bullish on the near- and long-term prospects for offshore wind’s growth in

Paul Barrett ieaco@aol.com

Hallmark House, 25 Downham Road, Ramsden the United States, a trend that will impact everything from maritime construc-

Health, Essex CM11 1PU UK t: +44 1268 711560 m: +44 7778 357722 tion, employment and logistics support in and around U.S. ports. During my f: +44 1268 711567 most recent travel swing, two events in particular stood out in this regard: Blue

Tech Week in San Diego and the 2018 Maritime Risk Symposium – Energy

Classi? ed Sales +1 212 477 6700

Gregory R. Trauthwein

Founder:

John J. O’Malley 1905 - 1980

Editor & Associate Publisher

Charles P. O’Malley 1928 - 2000 trauthwein@marinelink.com

Watch us Download our Apps Follow us on Social Media Check out our websites:

MarineLink.com MaritimeEquipment.com

MaritimeProfessional.com MarineElectronics.com

MaritimePropulsion.com YachtingJournal.com

MaritimeJobs.com MaritimeToday.com

MarineTechnologyNews.com TheMaritimeNetwork.com @ShipNews 6 Maritime Reporter & Engineering News • DECEMBER 2018

MR #12 (1-9).indd 6 MR #12 (1-9).indd 6 12/6/2018 4:04:06 PM12/6/2018 4:04:06 PM

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.