Page 6: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (February 2019)

Ferry Builders

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of February 2019 Maritime Reporter Magazine

MARITIME

Editorial

REPORTER

AND

ENGINEERING NEWS

M A R I N E L I N K . C O M

HQ 118 E. 25th St., 2nd Floor

New York, NY 10010 USA

Tel +1 212 477 6700

Fax +1 212 254 6271 www.marinelink.com

FL Offce 215 NW 3rd St

Boynton Beach, FL 33435-4009

Tel +1 561 732 4368

Fax +1 561 732 6984

Publishers

John E. O’Malley

John C. O’Malley jomalley@marinelink.com

Associate Publisher/Editorial Director

Ferry Good

Greg Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.com

Vice President, Sales

Rob Howard howard@marinelink.com

Web Contributor

Michelle Howard mhoward@marinelink.com

Editorial Contributors

Tom Mulligan - UK

As this is our ‘Ferry Annual,’ the original intent was to ‘rank and report’ on the Top 10

While we often cover ‘digitaliza-

Lisa Overing - Florida

Claudio Paschoa - Brazil

While nothing is impossible, the self-imposed task at hand tion’ trends and focus on technology ferry companies globally.

Peter Pospiech - Germany

William Stoichevski - Scandinavia proved to be improbable, as simply put the industry is too fragmented with no com- and technique that is designed to

Production mon measuring stick. make many facets of the ship design,

Irina Vasilets vasilets@marinelink.com

Of course there are some common denominators such as passenger and freight construction and operation more

Nicole Ventimiglia nicole@marinelink.com volumes, but is the biggest necessarily the best? There are fnancial considerations of efcient, I am very pleased to ofer

Corporate Staff

Mark O’Malley, Marketing Manager course, and in a perfect world each company would be publicly listed so that compari- a two feature section on Artifcial

Esther Rothenberger, Accounting son and contrast would be readily available. The are not. Intelligence.

Information Technology

Vladimir Bibik

With that, the mandate was posed to one of our regular contributors, Barry Parker, In the frst piece, “The Amazing who if you know him well is quite comfortable digging for numerical data across World of Mixed Reality” starting on

Subscription

Kathleen Hickey k.hickey@marinelink.com various platforms. After much consideration and discussion, we decided that a hybrid page 36, our science and technology approach – pun intended – was the best course forward, and in this edition, starting on writer Tom Mulligan goes deep with

Sales

Lucia Annunziata annunziata@marinelink.com page 26 we look at the true trend setters in the segment, companies that are ahead of a Norwegian team that is taking the +1 212 477 6700 ext 6220 the curve and leading the pack in terms of efciency, creative expansion and environ- next step with holographic technol-

Terry Breese breese@marinelink.com +1 561 732 1185 mental stewardship. Many of the names are familiar, some perhaps not, but I invite ogy, a system which can tangibly

John Cagni cagni@marinelink.com you to read our report and let the debate begin. beneft everything from vessel design +1 631-472-2715

Frank Covella covella@marinelink.com

Continuing with the ferry/passenger vessel theme, I am particularly pleased to ofer to crew training in advance of the frst +1 561 732 1659 a unique insight into the life and business of Tomas Tillberg. I have known Tomas cut of steel.

Mitch Engel engel@marinelink.com +1 561 732 0312 for nearly all of my 25+ years in this position, and simply put he is the defnition of ‘a The second feature, “The Virtual

Mike Kozlowski kozlowski@marinelink.com gentleman and a scholar.’ Walk-Through,” starting on page 40, +1 561 733 2477

Jean Vertucci vertucci@marinelink.com

Tomas Tillberg is one of those rare people that can engage you in conversation and looks at Elliot Bay Design Group’s +1 212 477 6700 ext 6210 makes hours seem like minutes, and, as a side, he has a knack for some outstanding use of virtual reality as a valuable tool passenger vessel design, too! Since I have covered his business and projects innumer- in vessel design, giving owner the

International Sales

Scandinavia & Germany able times, I wanted a fresh perspective, and I surely got one. Lisa Overing, our writer ability to experience the space well in

Roland Persson

Orn Marketing AB, Box 184 , S-271 24 in South Florida, spent several hours with this dynamic 74-year-old, and she provides advance of fnal design.

Ystad, Sweden t: +46 411-184 00 both and business and personal perspective that is truly unique. Her “Rebel with a roland@orn.nu

Cause” feature starts on page 20.

Germany

Brenda Homewood

Tel: +44 1622 297123 brenda@offshore-engineer.com

United Kingdom

Paul Barrett

Hallmark House, 25 Downham Road, Ramsden

Health, Essex CM11 1PU UK t: +44 1268 711560 m: +44 7778 357722 ieaco@aol.com

Classifed Sales +1 212 477 6700

Gregory R. Trauthwein

Editor & Associate Publisher

Founder:

John J. O’Malley 1905 - 1980 trauthwein@marinelink.com

Charles P. O’Malley 1928 - 2000

Watch us Download our Apps Follow us on Social Media Check out our websites:

MarineLink.com MarineElectronics.com

MaritimeProfessional.com OEDigital.com

MaritimePropulsion.com YachtingJournal.com

MaritimeJobs.com MaritimeToday.com

MarineTechnologyNews.com TheMaritimeNetwork.com

MaritimeEquipment.com @ShipNews 6 Maritime Reporter & Engineering News • FEBRUARY 2019

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.