Page 4: of Maritime Logistics Professional Magazine (Q1 2012)

Training & Maritime Security

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of Q1 2012 Maritime Logistics Professional Magazine

BPA Worldwide membership applied for February 2011. Meet theContributors Maritime4VSJIWWMSREP Copyright © 2012 New Wave Media. Maritime Professional (ISSN 2159-7758) volume 2, issue 1 is published quarterly (4 times per year) by New Wave Media, 118 E. 25th St., 2nd Floor, Ne w York, NY 10010. Application to mail Periodicals postage rates in pending at New York, NY and additional mailing of? ces. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to: Maritime Professional, 118 E. 25th St., 2nd Floor, New York, NY 10010. Publishers are not responsible for the safekeeping or return of editorial material. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prio r written permission of the publishers. 1EVMXMQI4VSJIWWMSREP?XLIQEKE^MRIWilliam H. Watson is Maritime Security Liaison at International Registries, Inc. (IRI), the mari- time and corporate administrator of the Republic of the Marshall Islands (RMI). Will also holds a commission as Deputy Commissioner of Mari- time Affairs in the Of? ce of the RMI Maritime Administrator. 6WRU\S Dr. Jim Giermanski, is Chairman, Powers Global Holdings, Inc., an international transportation security company. A former FBI special agent, OSI special agent and a Colonel in the Of? ce of Special Investigations, Giermanski has testi? ed many times at federal and state levels. 6WRU\S Murray Goldberg is CEO of Marine Learn- ing Systems (www.MarineLS.com), maker of MarineLMS. A researcher and developer of learning management systems, his software has been used by millions of people and companies, worldwide. Email: Murray@MarineLS.com. 6WRU\S Luke Ritter leads the maritime practice at Ridge Global, a ? rm founded by The Honorable Tom Ridge, the ? rst U.S. Secretary of Homeland Security. He can be reached for comment at:maritime@ridgeglobal.com. 6WRU\S Also in this Edition6|Editors Note 8 | Insights(PEDUNHG*XDUGV&RXQWHU3LUDF\ %\:LOOLDP+:DWVRQ,QWHUQDWLRQDO5HJLVWULHV,QF 10|Security:KHUH'LG&XVWRPV*R" %\'U-LP*LHUPDQVNL3RZHUV*OREDO+ROGLQJV,QF 14|Piracy8.3HUVSHFWLYHRQ3LUDF\RII6RPDOLD %\6WHSKHQ$VNLQV,QFH &R16|Pro? le5HDU$GPLUDO6DQGUD/6WRV]%\-RVHSK.HHIH 40|Training $GYDQFHG$SSURDFKHVLQ-RE7UDLQLQJ %\0XUUD\*ROGEHUJ 46|Technology 6LPXODWRU$QWL3LUDF\7UDLQLQJ 53|ECDIS$GPLUDOW\·V7KUHH3URQJHG6ROXWLRQ 58|By the Numbers 6HFXULW\(GXFDWLRQ62|Directory 64|Advertisers Index HQ 118 E. 25th St., 2nd FloorNew York, NY 10010 USA Tel +1 212 477 6700Fax+1 212 254 6271URLwww.maritimeprofessional.com Emailtrauthwein@marinelink.comISSN- 2159-7758EditorJoseph Keefekeefe@marinelink.com +1 704 661 8475Blogger Roster @MaritimeProfessional.comLead Commentator Joseph Keefe U.S. East Dennis Bryant U.S. West Martin Rushmere Brazil Claudio Paschoa Mumbai Joseph Fonseca Hong Kong Greg Knowler The Netherlands Keith Henderson PublisherJohn C. OMalleyjomalley@marinelink.comAssociate Publisher/Editorial DirectorGregory R. Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.comVP SalesRob Howardhoward@marinelink.comProductionIrina Tabakina tabakina@marinelink.comCorporate StaffVladimir Bibik,ITRhoda Morgan,Sales AdministrationMark OMalley, Public RelationsJocelyn Redfern, MarketingEsther Rothenberger, AccountingSubscriptionKathleen Hickeymarprocirc@marinelink.comAdvertising SalesJack Bond bond@marinelink.com+1 561 732 1659Terry Breese breese@marinelink.com+1 561 732 1185Mike Kozlowski kozlowski@marinelink.com +1 561 733 2477Dawn Trauthwein dtrauthwein@marinelink.com+1 631 472 2715Jean Vertucci vertucci@marinelink.com +1 212 477 67004 I Maritime Professional I1Q 2012

Maritime Logistics Professional

Maritime Logistics Professional magazine is published six times annually.