Page 6: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (August 2015)

Shipyard Edition

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of August 2015 Maritime Reporter Magazine

EDITORIAL

MARITIME

REPORTER

AND

ENGINEERING NEWS

M A R I N E L I N K . C O M

HQ 118 E. 25th St., 2nd Floor

New York, NY 10010 USA

Tel +1 212 477 6700

Fax +1 212 254 6271 www.marinelink.com

FL Of? ce 215 NW 3rd St

Boynton Beach, FL 33435-4009

Tel +1 561 732 4368

Fax +1 561 732 6984 Shipbuilding solid ...

Publishers

John E. O’Malley

John C. O’Malley jomalley@marinelink.com for now ...

Associate Publisher/Editorial Director

Greg Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.com

Vice President, Sales

Rob Howard howard@marinelink.com

GREG TRAUTHWEIN, EDITOR & ASSOCIATE PUBLISHER

Web Editor

Eric Haun haun@marinelink.com

Web Contributor s we traverse the dog days of summer, there In short, quality, long-term players in the maritime sector are

Michelle Howard howard@marinelink.com is a palpable caution in the air as much of well-versed and prepared for the inevitable downturns, while

Editorial the industry – with its fortunes and future companies in it for a quick hit that suffer ? rst and most. While

Joseph Fonseca - India

Claudio Paschoa - Brazil tightly tethered to the price of oil and gas companies may downsize to ride out the storm, resulting in a

Peter Pospiech - Germany – wait patiently for any sign that there is loss of valuable human resource assets that can take years to

Production stabilization, or dare we say rebound in the recover, many view turmoil as an opportunity to prune dead

A

Irina Tabakina tabakina@marinelink.com

Nicole Ventimiglia nicole@marinelink.com market. The maritime and energy markets are certainly no branches, and also a chance to pick up a product, capability or

Corporate Staff stranger to wild ? uctuations, but despite the luxury of 20/20 company on the cheap.

Mark O’Malley, Public Relations

Esther Rothenberger, Accounting hindsight these market swoons always seem to bring varying This is perfect timing for our shipyard edition, as shipyards

Gabby DelGatto, Of? ce Manager layers of surprise, shock or anger. are the heartbeat of this industry. A sincere thanks to Germán

Information Technology

Vladimir Bibik

While this precipitous drop in oil price (Brent is hovering at Carlos Suárez Calvo, CEO, Astican & Astander Shipyards,

Emin Tule $50 per barrel currently) has some industry watcher harken- for sharing his valuable time and insight regarding business,

Subscription ing the collapse of the 1980s and early 90s, even adjusting for investment and prospects at these pair of storied Spanish ship

Kathleen Hickey k.hickey@marinelink.com in? ation the current price is a far cry away from the $14 per repair and conversion facilities. Spain in particular has en-

Sales

Lucia Annunziata annunziata@marinelink.com barrel seen as recent as 1994. (adjusted for in? ation, that $14 dured a particularly rough economic stretch, but the manage- +1 212 477 6700

Terry Breese breese@marinelink.com in 1994 equals just more than $24 today). ment team at Astican & Astander Shipyards has embarked on +1 561 732 1185

Frank Covella covella@marinelink.com

It is times like these when I recall the advice of industry an ambitious plan of investment and growth that is designed to +1 561 732 1659

Mitch Engel engel@marinelink.com leader’s I’ve interviewed over the years, with the words of keep it strong for the coming generation. This story starts on +1 561 732 0312

Mike Kozlowski kozlowski@marinelink.com

Joseph H. Pyne, Chairman of the Board of Kirby Corp., and page 42.

+1 561 733 2477

Dawn Trauthwein dtrauthwein@marinelink.com interviewed in 2013, leaping to mind ? rst: The other big topic in this edition is Ballast Water Technol- +1 631 472 2715

Jean Vertucci vertucci@marinelink.com ogy, starting on page 30. There are multiple stories attacking +1 212 477 6700 “I’ve always been somewhat of a contrarian: when busi- this highly controversial issue, but I think the pull quote from

International Sales

Scandinavia ness gets really good I get nervous and when it gets really the USCG Commandant on page 34 is one that anyone with a

Roland Persson roland@orn.nu

Orn Marketing AB, Box 184 , S-271 24 bad I get excited.” stake in the game will be interested to see.

Ystad, Sweden t: +46 411-184 00 f: +46 411 105 31

Western Europe

Uwe Riemeyer riemeyer@intermediapartners.de t: +49 202 27169 0 f: +49 202 27169 20

United Kingdom

Paul Barrett ieaco@aol.com

Hallmark House, 25 Downham Road, Ramsden

Health, Essex CM11 1PU UK t: +44 1268 711560 m: +44 7778 357722 f: +44 1268 711567

Japan

Katsuhiro Ishii amskatsu@dream.com trauthwein@marinelink.com

Ace Media Service Inc., 12-6, 4-chome, Nishiike,

Adachi-ku, Tokyo 121, Japan t: +81 3 5691 3335 f: +81 3 5691 3336

Korea

Jo, Young Sang biscom@biscom.co.kr

Business Communications Inc., Rm 1232,

Gwanghwamoon Of? cia Bldg., 163, 1-Ga, Shinmoon-Ro, Jongro-Gu,

Seoul, Korea 110-999 t: +82 2 739 7840 f: +82 2 732 3662

Check out our other websites:

Classi? ed Sales t: (212) 477-6700

MarineLink.com MaritimeJobs.com MarineElectronics.com

Founder:

MaritimeProfessional.com MarineTechnologyNews.com YachtingJournal.com

John J. O’Malley 1905 - 1980

MaritimePropulsion.com MaritimeEquipment.com MaritimeToday.com

Charles P. O’Malley 1928 - 2000

Download our App iPhone & Android 6 Maritime Reporter & Engineering News • AUGUST 2015

MR #8 (1-9).indd 6 MR #8 (1-9).indd 6 8/10/2015 2:40:52 PM8/10/2015 2:40:52 PM

Maritime Reporter

Maritime Reporter & Engineering News is the largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime community.