Chamber Of Shipping Requests Entries

The Chamber of Shipping of America is currently accepting entries for the Ship Safety Achievement Awards and the Jones F. Devlin Awards — publicly recognizing high achievements in safety at sea.

The Ship Safety Achievement Awards are sponsored jointly by the Chamber of Shipping of America and the Marine Section of the National Safety Council (NSC). These awards are presented to vessels representing all segments of the marine industry — domestic and international, which have performed outstanding feats of rescue or seamanship illustrative of the high safety standards implemented upon the U.S. fleet.

Sponsored by the Chamber of Shipping of America, the Jones F. Devlin Awards are given to any self-propelled (domestic or international), which operates for two consecutive years without a crewmember losing a full turn at watch because of an occupational injury.

Entry forms can be obtained by contacting: Renee H. Reynolds, Safety Awards Coordinator, Chamber of Shipping America, 1730 M St., NW, Suite 407, Washington, D.C. 20036, tel: (202) 775-4399.

All entries must be received by April 7, 2000 in time for the Chamber's Annual Safety Luncheon scheduled for June 8 at the New Orleans Hilton Riverside, New Orleans, La.

Other stories from March 2000 issue


Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.