January 1977 - Maritime Reporter and Engineering News

Marine Section, NSC, Presents A w a r d s - Elects Officers At National Convention

At the recent annual convention of the Marine Section, National Safety Council (NSC), held in Chicago, 111., members of the maritime industry were honored with awards for their part in promoting safety. Officers for 1977 also were elected during the conference.

Awards for the development of outstanding posters promoting safety were: A.W.G. Musch, Marine Department, Texaco International ; Capt. Lars Pedersen, corporate safety coordinator, United Brands; John Faulk, safety director, Strachan Shipping Co.; Betty Stephens, vice president, Ships' Operational Safety Inc.; Capt. G. Schugart, chief surveyor, National Cargo Bureau; Capt. S. Fraser Sammis, president, National Cargo Bureau, and Capt. G. Kirk Greiner Jr., U.S.

Coast Guard.

In a special Best Paper Awards ceremony 12 maritime officials were honored.

The top honor — the General Chairman's Award—went to Robert G. McCreary Jr. of the legal firm of Arter & Hadden, Cleveland, Ohio, and to Lt. J.G. Kotecki of the Rules of the Road Branch, Office of Marine Environment and Systems, U.S. Coast Guard headquarters, Washington, D.C. Mr.

McCreary was cited for his presentation "How Far Is the Ship Owner's Responsibility for Safety of Seamen Ashore"; while Lieutenant Kotecki was honored for his paper titled "The Development of a Consistent Body of Uniform Navigation Rules." Also cited were Hal Draper, engineering manager, Employers Insurance of Texas, Houston, Texas; Capt. R. Vorenkamp, executive vice president, Acadian Marine Service, Inc., New Orleans, La.; Capt. Kent M. Savage, marine representative, National Fire Prevention Association, Boston, Mass.; Ronald Whitman, product manager, Wilson Equipment Company, Reading, Pa.; W.N. Bustin, senior engineer, Exxon Research & Engineering Company, Florham Park, N.J.; Comdr. Benjamin Joyce, chief, Seamen Occupational Standards and Analysis Branch, Office of Merchant Marine Safety of the Coast Guard, Washington, D.C.; Lt. Comdr.

G.F. Ireland, staff, Merchant Vessel Inspection Standards Branch, Office of Merchant Marine Safety of the Coast Guard, Washington, D.C., and John Mathews, personnel director, Twin City Barge and Towing Company, St. Paul, Minn.

In addition, citations for outstanding papers also were awarded to William E. Coughlin, assistant vice president of Universal Maritime Service Corp., New York, N.Y., and Timothy F.

Cleary, commissioner, Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission, Washington, D.C.

The awards were made by a special committee headed by Bruno Augenti, president, Marine Index Bureau, New York, N.Y., based on material delivered at the convention in 1975.

During the convention, David S. Walker, manager of Boston Tow Boat Company, was elected general chairman of the Marine Section. He succeeds Capt. C.H.


Other officers of the Marine Section elected were: vice general chairmen — Capt. Lars N.

Pedersen, safety coordinator of transportation operations, United Brands Company, New Orleans, La.; Capt. S. Fraser Sammis, president, National Cargo Bureau, Inc., New York, N.Y.; Fred R. Smith, chairman of the board, Seattle Stevedore Company, Seattle, Wash., and Capt. Robert E.

Hart, president, Marine Index Bureau, Inc., New York, N.Y.

John R. Blackeby, secretary, American Bureau of Shipping, New York, N.Y., was reelected secretary, and Capt. Hugh M.

Stephens, president, Ships' Operational Safety Inc., Port Washington Harbor, N.Y., was reelected assistant secretary.

Captain Waring, manager of the Accident Prevention Division of Lykes Bros. Steamship Company Inc., New Orleans, La., now assumes the chairmanship of the Marine Section Advisory Committee and the Nominating Committee.

The Marine Section is one of 28 industry groups in the NSC which serves as the coordinating organization in spreading information and developing programs for safety throughout the U.S.

Other stories from January 1977 issue


Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.