James Moseley Heads Port Of Jacksonville Propeller Club

James F. Moseley, a leading admiralty attorney and past president of the Jacksonville Bar Association is the new president of The Propeller Club of the United States Port of Jacksonville (Fla.), an organization that has more exthan 400 members engaged in maritime business in the South Atlantic's number one port.

Mr. Moseley succeeds Paul E.

Hoffert, president of Hoffert Marine Inc., and takes over as the head of one of the country's largest Propeller Clubs.

Other officers will include: 1st vice president, Michael C. Kenney of Ships Supply, Inc.; 2nd vice president, W. Anthony Watt of Florida Towing Company; secre- tary, John W. Connolly Jr. of Eastern Seaboard Petroleum Co., and treasurer, Harold C. McCarthy Jr. of Southeastern Maritime Corporation.

Mr. McCarthy is also the current president of Jacksonville Maritime Association (JMA) which represents management of steamship agency, stevedore, freight forwarding and custom house brokerage firms, In addition to the officers, members of The Propeller Club board of governors will be: Warren K.

Anderson, Trailer Marine Transport Corp.; Robert H. Aprile, Jacksonville Shipyards, Inc.; Ronald A. Burroughs, Parkhill-Goodloe Company, Inc.; Floyd C. Cagle, Ring Power Corporation; Capt.

Philip J. Danahy, incoming U.S.

Coast Guard Officer-in-Charge of Marine Inspection and Captain of the Port; George A. Dubois, Ships Supply, Inc.; Gerard B. Fox, Strachan Shipping Company; Comdr. Harry P. Hart, Harry P.

Hart Associates; George B. Herbert, Joyserv Company; Paul E.

Hoffert, Hoffert Marine, Inc.; David A. Howard, Seafarer Magazine ; Raymond L. King, Sea-Land Service, Inc.; William H. Newburn, Jacksonville Shipyards, Inc.; Capt.

James F. Randolph, St. Johns Bar Pilots Assn.; James J. Scott, Jacksonville Port Authority; Thomas J. Sween, Industrial Services; Capt. Bryan W. Thornton, Fernandina School System and master of R / V Sea Explorer, and Col. Donald A. Wisdom, U.S. Army District Engineer.

Four members of the board are former presidents of The Propeller Club. They are immediate past presidents Hoffert, Anderson, Burroughs, and Cagle.

Other stories from August 15, 1977 issue


Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.