April 1977 - Maritime Reporter and Engineering News

Fred S. Sherman Elected AIMS Board Chairman

A key East Coast shipping executive, long active in U.S. maritime affairs, has been elected chairman of the board of the American Institute of Merchant Shipping (AIMS) for the next 12 months.

He is Fred S. Sherman, chairman of the board, Marine Transport Lines, Inc., New York.

Change in leadership was announced by outgoing AIMS board chairman Norman Scott, president and chief executive officer, American President Lines, Ltd., Oakland, Calif., following the association's annual meeting in New York. Business conducted at the annual meeting included approval of AIMS budget through 1377, election of new board members and chairmen for the three councils, and reelection of officers to head the organization.

Chairman of the AIMS Liner Council will be W.J. Amoss Jr., president, Lykes Bros. Steamship Co., Inc., New Orleans, La., O.R.

Menton, general manager, Marine Division, Exxon Company, U.S.A., Houston, Texas, and Thomas B.

Crowley, president and board chairman, Crowley Maritime Corporation, San Francisco, Calif., will be the respective chairmen of AIMS's Tanker Council and Dry Cargo and Coastal Council.

Mr. Sherman, Marine Transport Lines board chairman since 1975, heads a company operating tanker and dry bulk vessels in the coastal and intercoastal trades.

Prior to 1975, he was president of Calmar Steamship Corporation and vice president of the Marine Division and Great Lakes Steamship Division of Bethlehem Steel Corporation. Mr. Sherman, who also was the AIMS board chairman in 1971, reassumes the leadership of the nation's largest association of American-flag shipowners.

AIMS is comprised of 34 companies operating 355 subsidized and nonsubsidized oceangoing vessels in the U.S. foreign, coastal and intercoastal trades.

These vessels include tankers, bulkers and new technology cargo carriers representing 70 percent of all active private-owned ships registered under the U.S. flag and aggregating over 8 million deadweight tons.

AIMS board members in 1977, in addition to Messrs. Sherman, Amoss, and Crowley, include: James P. Horn, president, American Export Lines, Inc., New York; Capt. Charles M. Lynch, manager, Marine Transportation, Atlantic Richfield Company, Los Angeles; Capt. J.W. Clark, president, Delta Steamship Lines, Inc., New Orleans; R.I. Hoskins, vice president, Marine Operations, Gulf Oil Trading Company, Pitts- burgh; Adrian S. Hooper, chairman of the board, Interstate Oil Transport Co., Philadelphia; Curtis S. Townshend, vice president, Mobil Shipping and Transportation Co., Newx York; Robert E. O'Brien, president and chief operating officer, Moore-McCormack Lines, Inc., New York; Spyros S. Skouras, chairman and chief executive officer, Prudential Lines, Inc., New York; Ward K. Savage Jr., vice president, Texaco Inc., New York; J.J.

Erwin, executive vice president, Trinidad Corporation, Philadelphia, and Edward J. Heine Jr., president, United States Lines, Inc., New York.

AIMS officers reelected by the board for the year are James J.

Reynolds, president; Albert E.

May, vice president, and William J. Coffey, secretary-treasurer.

Other stories from April 1977 issue


Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.