PSMA Elects Board Of Directors For 1986

—Tavrow Named Chairman The Pacific Merchant Shipping Association (PMSA) held its 1986 Annual Meeting Luncheon recently at the San Francisco World Trade Club. It provided PMSA members with an opportunity to review the group's activities in the past year and hear the views of Congressman Edward Zschau (R-CA) on the effects of the Gramm-Rudman- Hollings Deficit Reduction Act and the current U.S. trade imbalance.

Founded in 1919 as the Pacific American Steamship Association and rechartered as the Pacific Merchant Shipping Association in 1974, the group's primary function is to monitor the local, state, and federal issues that impact U.S.- and foreign- flag merchant shipping lines operating in the Pacific Basin area.

At present, PMSA has a roster of 30 members, divided into four categories: U.S.-flag carriers (6), foreignflag carriers (17), associates (3), and tanker membership (4).

The PMSA's 1986 board of directors include: Capt. Jerry A. Aspland, ARCO Marine; G.M. Cople, Sea-Land Service; Thomas B.

Crowley, Crowley Maritime; Fritz L. Hiltzheimer, United States Lines; Thomas M. Kelly, Lykes Bros. Steamship; Richard L. Tavrow, American President Lines; Michael S. Wasacz, Matson Navigation; Jack B. Wil- liams, Showa Maritime USA; and Jorgen Withseidelin, Italian Line, Neptune Orient Lines, and Polynesia Line. Mr. Tavrow, who served as the 1985 chairman, was reelected to that office for 1986.

Maritime Reporter Magazine, page 18,  May 1986

Read PSMA Elects Board Of Directors For 1986 in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of May 1986 Maritime Reporter

Other stories from May 1986 issue


Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.