The Who's Who In NWC

The National Waterways Conference's officers are generally considered among the leadership of the inland waterways industry.

NWC's board of directors consists of 75 members, serving staggered three-year terms and representing five membership categories: water carriers, waterway shippers, shipyards and other waterway services, port authorities and other public members and associations.

Berdon Lawrence, now completing his first term as conference chairman, is president of Hollywood Marine, Inc., a firm operating some 100 towboats and 230 tank barges engaged primarily in moving petrochemicals and petroleum products along the Gulf Intracoastal Canal.

NWC's vice chairman is J.D.

(Johnnie) Laman, manager of marine and international operations for Dow Chemical USA, a major waterway shipper. He has worked with Dow since 1957 and headed the company's marine transportation unit since 1980.

Harry N. Cook, NWC's president since 1978, heads the organization's Washington headquarters staff. A former newsman, he was a Congressional aide and Alabama governor's press secretary before joining the NWC in 1964.

NWC's first vice president, W.

Richard Christensen, is vice president-marine/surface transportation and facilities for Ashland Petroleum Co., which operates both towboats and tank barges.

Vice presidents are Wallace A.

Gieringer, director, Pine Bluff- Jefferson County (Ark.) Port Authority; Charles F. Lehman, consultant, American Commercial Barge Line Co.; and Donald G.

Waldon, administrator, Tennesses- Tombigbee Waterway Development Authority. William J. Hull is vice president and counsel.

H. Nelson Spencer III, publisher of Waterways Journal, is secretary, and Donald C. McCrory, port director, Port of Memphis, is treasurer.

Members of the executive committee include: Nicholas J. Barchie Jr., president, Warrior & Gulf Navigation Co.; J. Ron Brinson, president and chief executive officer, Port of New Orleans; W.R.

Coles, manager-public works, Sverdup Corp.; Brian L. Garrity, supervisor- water distribution systems, IMC Fertilizer Corp.; Dennis L.

Kirwin, vice president, Midland Marine Corp.; David W. Kreutzer, general manager-river division, Consolidation Coal Co.; Gary P.

LaGrange, director, Port of West St. Mary; J. Stephen Lucas, director- logistics/operations, Louis Dreyfus Corp.; Gary L. Mills, vice president, Cargill, Inc.; OfFa S. Nichols, president, Warrior-Tombigbee Development Association; Robert W. Portiss, port director, Tulsa Port of Catoosa; Gale R.

Rhodes, manager-river transportation, AEP Fuel Supply; George J.

Ryan, president, Lake Carriers' Association; T. Mark Simmons, president, Yazoo-Mississippi Delta Levee Board; and L.E. (Les) Sutton, president, Ingram Barge Co.

Maritime Reporter Magazine, page 25,  Aug 1990

Read The Who's Who In NWC in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of August 1990 Maritime Reporter

Other stories from August 1990 issue


Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.