Southeast Asian Technical Committee Formed By ABS

A new technical committee has been formed by the American Bureau of Shipping (ABS) for the purpose of enabling ABS to maintain closer contacts with scientific and technical matters relating to shipbuilding and engineering in Southeast Asia. The formation of the 83-member Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Technical Committee was announced by Robert T. Young, chairman of the board of ABS.

Mr. Young said that the committee is composed of prominent individuals in maritime affairs.

Chairman of the committee in Chor Teck Chua, managing director, Keppel Shipyard, Republic of Singapore, and the vice chairman is Miguel Magsaysay, president, Magsaysay Lines, Inc. Philippines.

The inaugural meeting of the committee was held on July 11 in Singapore, and was attended by Mr. Young and Warren L. Anderson, principal surveyor for the Orient, and personnel from the other ABS offices in Southeast Asia.

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations is the 15th overseas technical committee maintained by ABS. In addition to Mr.

Chua and Mr. Magsaysay, the members of the new committee are: From Indonesia — Capt. Drs.

M.J.P. Hahijary, president/director, P.T. Djakarta Lloyd; Ir. S.

Harsono, director of marine industries, Direktorat Industri Perkapalan, Ditjen Industri Logam Dan Mesin; M. Husseyn Umar, S.H., president/director, Pengembangan Armada Niaga Nasional, P.T.; Soetopo Iman, president/ director, P.T. Pertamina Tongkang, and Adil A. Nurimba, president/ director, P.T. Gesuri Lloyd.

From Malaysia—Leslie Eu, director and general manager, Malaysian International Shipping Corporation Bhd., and Ibrahim Mohamed Taib, joint general manager, Malaysia Shipyard and Engineering Sdn. Bhd.

From Philippines — Roberto S.

Benedicto, chairman, Northern Lines, Inc.; Q.S. Camus, president, Atlantic, Gulf & Pacific Co.

of Manila, Inc.; Robert Coyiuto, president, Pioneer Insurance Companies; Constante Farinas, chairman, National Development Company; Jose P. Fernandez, president, Compania Maritima; Carlos Ledesma, president, Negros Navigation Company; Bienvenido L.

Lim, president, Reyes & Lim Company, Inc.; Eduardo J. Rodriguez, president, National Steel Corporation; Adm. Hilario M. Ruiz, president, Philippine Dockyard Corporation; Col. Generoso F. Tanseco (ret.), Administrator, Maritime Industry Authority, and Emilio T. Yap, president, Philippine President Lines, Inc.

From Republic of Singapore— Brian Chang, chairman/managing director, Promet Private Limited; Y.C. Chang, managing director, Pacific International Lines (Pte.) Ltd.; Gek Khiam Koh, managing director, Sing Koon Seng Private Limited; Kok Kim Kuah, chairman, Asiatic Navigation International Limited; K.C. Lee, chairman, Asia-Pacific Shipyard Pte.

Ltd.; S.Y. Loh, director, Robin Group; Guan Onn Low, joint managing director, Jurong Shipyard Limited; Cheng Eng Lua, general manager, Neptune Orient Lines Ltd.; P.H. Meadows, chairman/ managing d i r e c t o r , Far East- Levingston Shipbuilding Ltd.; Isoe Takezawa, president and director, Mitsubishi Singapore Heavy Industries (Pte.) Ltd.; C.N. Watson, managing director, Sembawang Shipyard Limited, and Conan Wu, Conan Wu & Associates Pte. Ltd.

From Thailand — Rear Adm.

Banpot Sudswang, R.T.N., director general, Thai Maritime Navigation Company, Ltd.

The American Bureau of Shipping is an international ship classification society that establishes standards, called Rules, for the design, construction, and periodic survey of merchant vessels and other marine structures.

Maritime Reporter Magazine, page 27,  Aug 1978

Read Southeast Asian Technical Committee Formed By ABS in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of August 1978 Maritime Reporter

Other stories from August 1978 issue


Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.