Maritime Transportation Research Board Names Five New Members

Five new members have been appointed to the National Research Council's Maritime Transportation Research Board, succeeding those whose terms expired June 30.

The new members, who will serve three-year terms, are: Al- CHECK CYLINDER LOAD bert L. Bossier Jr., president and chief operating officer, Avondale Shipyards, Inc.; Hazel Brown, p r e s i d e n t , H a r r y Lundeberg School of Seamanship; Donald P.

Courtsal, vice president, Dravo C o r p o r a t i o n ; Allen E. Schumacher, chairman, American Hull Insurance Syndicate; and Sheldon A. Vogel, partner, admiralty law firm of Bigham Englar Jones and Houston.

In addition, Paul F. Richardson of Paul F. Richardson Associates, Inc., was appointed to a second three-year term on the board.

Phillip Eisenberg, chairman of the executive committee, Hydronautics, Inc., and Robert Kharasch, partner in the law firm, Galland, Kharasch, Calkins, and Short, agreed to extend their terms for an additional year.

The board is a major unit of the Commission on Sociotechnical Systems of the National Research Council. It performs research advisory services on all aspects of marine transportation and marine transportation systems, including impact of such systems on the economy and society; improvement of ships, cargo handling, ports and marine facilities; education, training, and working conditions of marine personnel; and relationship of elements of the marine transportation system to other transportation, economic, and social systems.

Other stories from September 1978 issue


Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.